Show & Share Video Explainer: “The far right in Britain”

Devyn Mode
Let’s Get Civic-al
1 min readFeb 25, 2017

By Devyn Mode

After Google searching “video explainer,” I scrolled until I saw a journalistic topic from a well-known source. The Guardian published “The far right in Britain” three months ago and it was made by Richard Spregner, Phil Maynard, Paul MacInnes and Mustafa Khalili.

I chose this video because I feel like the influence of the Alt-Right in our modern, American politics is relevant. However, I don’t know much about modern, British politics so the topic is a combination of interests I already have and things I am curious, yet uninformed about. I also strongly oppose the far right, so naturally its history interests me.

I think this is a great piece of journalism because it provides historical context to modern issues. I also enjoyed the explanatory narration and combination of photos and videos all throughout the history of the British far right. What I like most about the video is that they used real propaganda and pop culture references. I also think the reporters did a good job of remaining unbiased; however, I do think it could be shorter.

--

--

Devyn Mode
Let’s Get Civic-al
0 Followers

Journalism and Political Science Major at Mercer University