“The Trials of Kendrick Lamar”

Jaclyn Ramkissoon
Let’s Get Civic-al
1 min readMar 28, 2017

“Rolling Stone” profiles one of the most iconic rappers of this generation.

By Jaclyn Ramkissoon

Photograph by Theo Wenner

Profiles involving music artists are interesting to me. I want to understand who they are behind their musical facade and performances.

Josh Eells gives us that opportunity in his profile of Kendrick Lamar, which was written before the release of Lamar’s sophomore album “To Pimp A Butterfly”.

I found this article while browsing RS’s website. I am a fan of Kendrick Lamar, so I clicked on it.

This is a good piece of journalism because it provides you will details and backstory on Lamar. It uses specific instances in Lamar’s life in Compton to explain where some of his lyrics have stemmed from. By including small touches, such as naming the colorful nicknames of Kendrick’s friends, the article provides a closer look into Lamar’s life.

I like how it didn’t just include details from Kendrick’s point of view, but also his mother and father’s, giving the reader a well-rounded experience.

--

--