What’s in a [street] name?

Katie Atkinson
Let’s Get Civic-al
1 min readOct 18, 2016

You don’t have to make profound contributions to society to have a street named after you. Well, at least that’s what we are trying to prove with our upcoming project. We want to know: what does it take to have a street named after you?

For Alex Sandifer, sophomore, the decision to follow this question was an easy one.

“I want to know if I can just throw some cash at the right person and get an Alex Sandifer Boulevard, or if I have to reach some level of fame,” Sandifer said.

Jiali Chen, another group member, agrees.

“I think that naming the street after somebody could be a recognition of […] contribution to society,” Chen said. “I want to know if my idea is right.”

Our team will be investigating how the common person can go about getting a street named after them in the next post installments. Follow along and let us know what you want to know about the street naming process.

--

--