NASA/JPL-Caltech/SSI

My First Look At The Lord Of The Rings (Saturn)

Who doesn’t love Saturn and its rings? :)

--

So, like I said before, the sky is more close to me now. And this time I’m here to talk about Saturn. :D

I’m pretty novice in this sky watching thing, but some months ago I tried to find Saturn in the sky, and after some focus in / focus out and telescope shaking on the roof of my house, I did it.

The awesome thing is that I was looking at something more than 1 billion kilometers from here, (I SAID BILLION). A tiny spherical thing with a ring I could say, but we know that Saturn is a big gas giant.

I don’t have a Hubble Telescope at home, so, this image on the left side is basically what I saw, nevertheless I was really excited. For the first time I was able to contemplate the grace of observe that object with help of a telescope just like Galileu Galilei once did.

Someday I’ll look at this pretty planet with a bigger telescope, but I’m pretty sure that this very first time I’ve looked at Lord Of Rings was remarkable to me, and more or less zooming won’t affect the feeling to do something for passion on the roof of my house, just me, a simple telescope and the universe.

Extra:

The Cassini Spacecraft captures a lot of images, but the job on Saturn was amazing. You may want to see in full resolution.

--

--