https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150943783716078.405546.29990386077&type=3

Why I come into the office

When I come in “late”, people may think I’ve been slacking off. Though they may not realise the work I did on Sunday after an idea came to me in the shower.

Matthew Partovi
Let’s make organisations better!
3 min readDec 4, 2013

--

In many organisations, the expectation is to be in the office from 09:00 ‘til 17:00, and if you come in later or leave earlier, you’ll be seen as slacking off. Given the type of work I do and the company I’m part of, I can work from almost anywhere. Now that I’m not forced to come into the office, I have ownership of deciding what I do, which has helped me see the value an office brings. Here are a few of the reasons I now choose to come into the office.

  1. To spend time with my friends. On Friday morning I flew back into the country having returned from a work trip. I could have stayed at home that day, but instead I chose to come into the office. I had the feeling I get when I’m looking forward to seeing my friends and family. It reminded me of Automattic’s description that their “company meet up feels more like a family reunion versus a casual meet up”.
  2. To eat and play table tennis. As well as being things I get pleasure from, these activities are even more meaningful because of what they lead to. I believe if my colleagues and I become friends with each other, we’ll be more willing to help each other be successful at our work.
  3. If people in the office would benefit from me being there, or if I’m working on something that would benefit from other people being involved. This is all about tradeoffs. If I’m not in the office, then I can’t be there to respond to people that could benefit from what I know, or bounce ideas around with others. If I choose to not come into the office, it means I can be face-to-face with other people, or be on my own — free from interruptions. One of the things that helps make this option possible is people working out loud so anyone can get involved.
  4. It’s a stimulating environment. During the working day I sometimes decide to have ‘meetings’ walking outside with others, or work in a cafe or external shared space. Similarly, at the weekend I sometimes choose to spend time in the office. I do it because I can. Because different environments help bring out the best of me in different ways, depending on what I’m doing.

I’m fortunate to be part of an organisation that realises it’s more important to measure people’s value based on the output we help achieve, rather than our input. Someone in the office eight hours a day may not necessarily create more value than someone who works five. When I come in “late”, people may think I’ve been slacking off. Though they may not realise the work I did on Sunday after an idea came to me in the shower. Some may say this works for me because of my work, lifestyle and personal circumstances. That is the point. As far as possible, I believe people should be able to flex things to fit what works for them and gets the best outcomes for them and their organisation.

Do you have a workplace routine that people might find a bit ‘different’?

Previous posts:

Why I don’t tell people to close their laptops in meetings

8 tips for improving employee engagement

7 tips for improving your communication style on internal (enterprise) social networks

--

--

Matthew Partovi
Let’s make organisations better!

I lead a network of company culture activists @culturevist. Founding member of @ResponsiveOrg