The Definitive Checklist for Hotel Managers

Holly Arora
Lets rock the hotel
3 min readFeb 6, 2018

Running a hotel is a fine combination of 50% art & 50% science. Okay some days it might be 49/51! As a Hotel General Manager I rely heavily on checklists to get me through my day/week/month.

These checklists have always helped me stay on track with my goals and those of the hotel. Now I’m giving you a sneak peek to what has worked best for me in the past. I’ll break down my to-do’s in Daily/Weekly/Monthly checklists.

  • Inspect Guest Arrival Rooms
  • Count and tally cash drawer & safe
  • Check arrivals list for VIP’s and potential sales leads
  • Conduct morning huddle with staff
  • Check walk-ins from night prior
  • Run reservations created yesterday report
  • Check all online channels for rate parity
  • Read front desk log and stay up to date with staff communication
  • Discuss supplies needs with hotel HOD’s
  • Inspect all public areas
  • Check on weekly aging report
  • Send out invoices to Direct Bill accounts
  • Create staff schedule
  • Analyze weekly STAR Report
  • Respond to online reviews
  • Check in-house billing report (look for arrears)
  • Re-order breakfast supplies
  • Submit Accounts Payable invoices for payment
  • Check guest satisfaction scores
  • Meet with depart HOD’s
  • Check employee time sheets, highlight those approaching OverTime(OT)
  • Profit and Loss Expense Budget
  • Linen inventory
  • No carry over aging balance 60+ days
  • Consolidate petty cash and submit petty cash request
  • Finalize all journal entries for accounting
  • Submit any tax exemptions to property accountant
  • Decide on monthly Preventative Maintenance rooms with maintenance engineer
  • Prepare and review top accounts report
  • Review labor report for overages in any/all departments

This is the checklist I have followed to keep me on track and remind me of anything I might have missed. Feel free to use it and leave a comment if there is something you’d like to add?

Want to download it in an excel format? Simply click here and enter your email. I will send one out to you :)

Would you like to learn more cool stuff about the hotel industry? Get your Free Enrollment in Hotel Operations online training course. — click here.

--

--

Holly Arora
Lets rock the hotel

A hotelier, with a passion for teaching others the art and science of hospitality.