Ethics of Creativity - 5 Tips that Every Photographer Should Know

Alex Kamau
Lets Drift
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2020
Credits : Dreamstime

“Kijana unajua hufai kupiga picha hapa? “ There are no words that I dread to hear like those. If you are a photographer you have probably heard them and know the hustle of unwrapping yourself with what comes afterwards.

The first time I was in a police cell, my camera got me there! It was my amateur period when I took photos of everything that fascinated me; forests, waterfalls, railway lines and all. One afternoon I found myself in a cell in Limuru after being caught taking photos at the railway station.

It was scary but unfortunately not my last time. Not twice or thrice have I had to deal with the facts of being caught with the camera in the wrong places.

I shoot for the gram and the seduction of it has led me to break up many rules and ignore a lot of ethics that comes with being a creative. However as I grow I am learning a couple of lessons that I would call the ethics of creativity especially in regards to photography.

These few nuggets have been of great help to me as a photographer and a hiking guide and have led me to insurmountable opportunities that I wouldn’t have experienced if I didn’t learn these lessons. I hope they will not only keep you out of trouble but also open doors for you

The ethics of creativity

1. Local Local Local

I repeat again, locals are everything. They will help you a bunch before or after you get into trouble! Talk to them, ask questions and engage them. You will learn much from them than Google can offer.

I once was saved by a local in Murang’a taking photos in a very unsafe location. I might have gone home without my gear.

Say hi to locals even when you think you don’t need them!

2. Be nice and humane

Most guards or cops are not always looking for opportunities to take advantage of you. Most of them are nice people and often human as long as you show interest and respect to their work.

I made friendship with cops in Kijabe forest that transcends what they do as police, so much so that when we were hiking from Ngong to Naivasha they offered a place for us to pitch our tents and everything we needed at that time.

3. Scout before you shoot

Scouting before your shoot is not only good at familiarizing you with the location but also good in helping you take caution on a couple of things like the weather and accessibility of the place.

I have realized good shots are not accidents. They are stories, attempts and efforts that go beyond a day or two.

Know the location as best as you can.

4. Be clear with your purpose

When asking for permission to take photos, let the concerned parties know what purpose you are taking the photos for. Some people don’t want to be seen online while others don’t care. But ask anyway!

5. Tag your location

This one is personal but might be helpful. When we were starting out doing adventures and hikes, we relied mostly on social media and especially Instagram for inspiration and locations. Most times we could see great shots but struggle to find the places because the people who posted were discreet about the locations.

Tagging locations will save you a lot of ‘huku ni wapi?’ comments on your photos. Be kind to let people know even before they ask. It makes it easy to motivate others to create and travel.

Don’t be selfish with your adventures!

I hope those points will save you a night in the cell or ‘chai’ and help you elevate the role of photography as a medium that upholds the law and respects culture

My name is Alex. I am a Creative based in Limuru. You can see my work both on my personal Instagram page or my other passion for adventure on Lets Drift page.

This article was written with help & editing of my friend Martha Aosa

Have a creative week ahead guys!

--

--