Story shared by Rohit Lad-

I steered through the usual Mumbai traffic, on my way back from office. I was feeling totally exhausted after the entire day’s action. As I halted at a traffic signal, waiting for the 50 seconds count to get over, a small boy approached me, trying to sell a ‘Gajara’. Smilingly, he requested me to buy one. As I didn’t have anyone to buy it for, I shook my head to refuse.

The boy moved further and stopped by a long shiny car. My mind was somehow fixed on that small, happy salesman, so I kept looking. He knocked the window of the car and a lady slid down the glass and asked “Kitne ka?” [How much?]. The boy said “12 rupees”. Her instant response was to bargain for price. She insisted to pay him Rs. 20 for 2 strands. I couldn’t hold back. I took off my helmet and uttered, “jahan par bargain karna chayiye, vahan tou karte nahin hain, aur ek chote bacche se 2 rupay ke liye bargain karte hain. well done!” [People don’t bargain where they should but want to bargain for two rupees with a small child. Well done!].

I felt a little content after venting out. I wore my helmet as only 9 seconds were left for the green light, still watching the little ‘gajre waala’. I saw the lady pull out and hand him twenty-five rupees for two gajras. And as I crossed that car, she gave me a ‘guilty-smile’ and said sorry.

This small instance made me forget my tension. I rode back, feeling happy but also sad. There were some thoughts, some questions going on in my head, like ‘Why do we always think of extracting maximum value from others, rather than thinking of what we can do for them?’ and ‘What difference would have four rupees made in the life of the rich lady?’ and so on….

--

--

Deepika Goyal
LetsKarmyo

Startup enthusiast | Philosopher | Lifetime Learner | Co-Founder@ http://karmyo.com/