3?What’s that read?3

Taresh Vohra
Letter from Taro
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2022

I wanted to talk about this wordmark. But there was no way to really talk about it until I finally heard its name being mentioned in an advertisement. What do you think it reads?

What does this read?

What would you type in the search bar if you’re curious about this brand? Its tagline? But the first word is quite tough to read. In fact, a good logo should be read from a moving car where you only have the luxury of a few seconds of reading and comprehension.

I had seen food trucks with this logo around Bengaluru, but I had no idea what to call the company. My first thought was always: @-3-min! Which was a weird name, I thought. Today I found that the name of this brand is Qmin, and it is a gourmet delivery service that brings the luxurious, expensive cuisine of the Taj chain to your doorstep. The name is a pun on cumin, or jeera.

The ‘Q’ has a clear ‘3' within it, which makes it much tougher to read. Why is the 3 there? I felt that it makes the brand seem like an instant noodle company that promises a hot meal in 3 minutes. Only now, as I gathered the above image from the internet, I put the tagline and logo together and realised that it (probably) originates from the 3 Q’s in the tagline.

My earlier draft of this article was more of a rant. Now it’s just simple curiosity. The strange thing is that this logotype still remains the same to this date.

--

--