Embracing the Wisdom of My Father

Boost4Fit
Letters to Myself
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2023

Celebrating 55 Years of Impact.

Photo by Dave Salter from Burst

Few are fortunate enough to have a guiding presence in their lives, a father figure who navigates them through life’s intricate maze. I consider myself truly blessed to have a father who has not only been there for me but has also played a pivotal role in shaping my journey.

Today, as my Father commemorates 55 remarkable years on earth, I find myself reflecting on the remarkable impact he has had on me and others. It fills me with immense pride to be known as his daughter.

Oh, how I yearn for the days when he would share nuggets of wisdom, and we would share laughter and embark on exciting adventures together. Today, I celebrate the profound influence my father has had on my life, equipping me with invaluable lessons that continue to guide my decision-making.

The One-Shot Rule: Seizing Life’s Opportunities

Opportunities are like fleeting stops on a high-speed bullet train. You have a single chance to capture them before they speed away, leaving you waiting for the next boarding opportunity. This is a lesson my father imparted to me — that our lives are filled with countless opportunities, but they come with an expiration date.

Once that chance passes, it’s gone forever. We cannot halt the train of life; we can only leap aboard when the doors open. Whether it’s the opportunity to become a manager take it is a stepping stone toward the CEO position, or a song that could pave the way to the billboard. So keep your guard up and seize every opportunity that brings me closer to your goals.

Mastering Your Environment

A Path to Conquering the World True conquest of the world begins within the confines of our personal space. To conquer the world, we must first conquer our immediate surroundings. The seemingly simple tasks of making our bed in the morning, brushing our teeth diligently, and maintaining cleanliness and organization hold incredible power.

They shape how we handle what lies beyond our control and our responsibilities. My father emphasized that by mastering our immediate environment, we lay the foundation for success in the wider world. It all starts with small, personal actions.

Self-Forgiveness

The Key to Moving Forward Forgiving oneself requires immense effort, honesty, and grace, far more than forgiving others. If we fail to forgive ourselves, the weight of guilt follows us wherever we go, ultimately hindering our progress and preventing us from seizing significant opportunities. As humans, we all make mistakes that can drastically impact our lives and the lives of others.

Often, we find ourselves stuck, held back in blaming ourselves and wishing we could go back in time to do things differently. Yet, it is impossible to go back or undo, we only have to learn from the mistakes. It is challenging but not impossible .

The sooner we start pardoning ourselves, the better, for we must avoid reaching a point where we regret not having done so earlier.

The energy you put into the world returns to you

When we perform acts of kindness and goodwill, we do not just benefit others; we benefit ourselves as well. Sharing and giving to others brings us immense happiness and joy. On the other hand, when we choose to sow seeds of conflict and negativity, we only bring suffering upon ourselves. By becoming a source of anger and frustration, we ultimately experience the consequences of our actions.

My father instilled in me the understanding that offering a helping hand or denying one is not merely about others — it profoundly impacts our own lives. The famous saying, “what goes around comes around,” holds true. The universe has its way of repaying us for our deeds whether good or bad. When we make someone smile, the universe reciprocates the moments of joy to us, someone else or within our own family.

As I celebrate my father today, I am reminded of the invaluable lessons he has shared with me that have shaped my perspective and have become the guiding light on my journey through life. May we all embrace the wisdom of those who have influenced us, and may their lessons continue to inspire and motivate us every day.

--

--

Boost4Fit
Letters to Myself

Just a young blood who enjoys writing her thoughts while navigating life. Life is beautiful enjoy the sunshine and the rain it counts at the end.