Your Fingers

Scott Pauley
Letters for Georgia Faith
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

Georgia Faith,

I gave you your fingers.

Well technically it was a combination of your Momma, God and I, but your sweet little fingers are definitely like mine.

They were one of the first things we noticed when we watched you figuring out yourself and the craziness that is being created during the ultrasound that we found out you were a girl. I remember being so happy to see a healthy little baby-to-be swishing her long skinny fingers around and seeming so curious and aware already.

It astonished me that you had about 6 more months to grow and become the baby I met and instantly fell in love with. I loved you then though. I just had no clue how much more my heart could grow, and how much stronger that love could be when I got to hold you and look at your beautiful fingers as they gripped my pinky like it was made for that exact purpose.

I don’t know what those long, skinny, strong fingers will do as you grow up, but I can imagine you playing the piano, learning the violin, beating your Momma in video games (Take it easy on her sweetness, she struggles sometimes — although that simply makes me love her more) or hopefully just laying on the couch or in your tee-pee reading books and escaping into the wondrous stories that captivate us too.

It’s weird to me to see the difference between those fingers on the day you were born, and this seemingly different lifetime where at 5-months-old you’re using those same fingers to hold your bottle and to bring everything they touch to your mouth for a good slobbering. I don’t know how it happened so quickly. It seems like a prolonged blink.

You make me never want to close my eyes. I know that’s a little too Aerosmithy, but I just don’t want to miss anything. I guess Steven Tyler actually is a lyrical genius.

That’s probably (hopefully) a confusing reference for you. Don’t look it up.

It’s not important.

I don’t know how old you’ll be when you read this, but for the rest of your life I’ll cherish your fingers. They are one of my favorite parts of you, and I will always smile knowing I had a small part in making them.

I love you Georgia girl.

--

--