IOM X
#LettersforMigrants
2 min readMay 31, 2017

--

I am Elvie. I came to Singapore in 2012 and I worked for 4 years for a family from Thailand. I just want to say that I am very happy that I worked for them and to be part of their family because they always cared for me. But after a few years they moved back to her own country, and I decided to transfer. I am a single mother, and I must support my child back home.

I then got a new employer. I had a very different experience with them. I took care of their 2 year old and a baby of 6 months while also cooking, cleaning, ironing, and doing the washing.

My madam did not treat me fairly; she would deduct 50 dollars of my salary if I took a break, and they didn’t get food for me when I was with them in a restaurant. She also came into the shower on several occasions without knocking. She was never happy with my work and always complained. She was always late with my salary. She called me a liar and said that she didn’t trust me.

When I asked her to give me the release papers so that I could transfer, she wouldn’t do it. She said I was taking good care of her son. Then one day she called me an idiot and she took my phone away from me. She knows I am a single mother, so how am I supposed to call my son?

That is why I decided to run away. I want to teach my son to be strong for any trials that we face. Trials are not a reason to give up.

Elvie

--

--

IOM X
#LettersforMigrants

IOM X is the International Organization for Migration’s innovative campaign to encourage safe migration and prevent human trafficking, funded by USAID.