Was Bobby Hull the Greatest Blackhawk of the Modern Era?

A look at the top 10 Blackhawks from 1965 forward.

Larrylambert
Letters from a Sports Fan

--

Creative Commons: : Prayitno / Thank you for (12 millions +) view

The passing of Bobby Hull marks the closing of another chapter in Chicago sports history. Old hockey fans might remember Bobby as perhaps the most exciting player in the NHL during the 60s. Hull put up huge numbers, but beyond that, he did it with style and a tremendous amount of charisma.

Hull’s off the ice life isn’t worthy of adulation, but that’s not the point of this piece. Here’s my take on how Bobby stacked up against ofter Blackhawks who have played during my lifetime.

You’ll notice there are no goalies on the list. Tony Esposito might have made it if Jacques Lemaire hadn’t beaten him from the center ice in the seventh game of the 1971 Stanley Cup Final. After that, there was a feeling of impending doom amongst Hawks fans. And rightfully so as it turned out. But I’m not bitter. On to better hockey times and my Top 10 Blackhawks, 1965–2017.

10. Brent Seabrook: During the last few years of his career, Seabrook looked like he’s skating in quicksand and he’s probably not as good as Chris Chelios was for the Hawks, but for me Cups matter. Seabrook has been on three Stanley Cup winners and has had some huge overtime goals. That’s why he gets the nod over some other Hawks who had better…

--

--

Larrylambert
Letters from a Sports Fan

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.