What I Like About Manchester United

Even though they’re bitter rivals

Isaac Ong
Letters from a Sports Fan
2 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Photo by Javid Naderi on Unsplash

Man United have always been known to be a team who played their best on the counter attack. But to be a top team in the Premier League, having only one source of goals is not enough.

So in the successful periods they had under different managers, the other ways that the managers have gotten them to play have fascinated me.

Under Van Gaal, it was how he used Marouane Fellaini as a target man from midfield to devastating effect after he had earned a reputation as a flop under David Moyes. Having the target man play behind the more creative forward, in this case Wayne Rooney, was a novel concept to me. It was also during Van Gaal’s tenure that we saw long-time United wingers Antonio Valencia and Ashley Young being converted into fullbacks, or wingbacks when he employed back three formations.

His speech at Old Trafford at the end of his time there was also very memorable. I remember how he used a mic which made his voice boom throughout the stadium. Hearing how the fans responded with their applause and cheers was moving, and I can only imagine what it would have been like listening to that speech as a United fan.

When Ole Gunnar Solskjær was at the helm, I was intrigued most by how United performed in the big games, especially in the Champions League. Everyone remembers their 3–1 win at Le Parc des Princes, which completed an impressive comeback against the French giants after getting beaten 2–1 at home, which meant they had to win the 2nd leg by two goals due to the away goals rule. But that wasn’t my most memorable Solskjær moment.

The most impressive Man United stat for me was his record against Pep Guardiola. In 9 meetings between the two managers, Solskjær has won 4 and drawn 1 of those matches, according to transfermarkt.com. Even though I don’t like Man United as a Liverpool fan, Man City has been a bigger rival in recent years so I always rooted for United when City played them. The fact that it was a realistic chance that United would take points off City no matter their form at the time made it a fixture that I always followed with great anticipation.

During my few short years as a football fan, these have been the most vivid memories I have of United which drew my admiration. I’ll be honest, I was busy gloating over their poor performances the rest of the time.

--

--

Isaac Ong
Letters from a Sports Fan

Never thought I'd write poems on here but it's the only form of writing that comes to mind lately ¯⁠\⁠⁠(⁠ツ⁠)⁠⁠/⁠¯