MENTAL HEALTH | INDIA

Untangling the Complexities of Mental Health in India: Causes and Consequences

A deep dive into the societal, cultural, and economic factors contributing to India’s high rates of depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and suicide.

Katrina Haney
Letters From India
Published in
4 min readJun 18, 2023

--

A group of Indian schoolchildren (Public Domain)

I recently became acquainted with someone in India, and we have been corresponding for a while. His game is Nitya, and he is a college student.

Because of my interest in both mental illness and different cultures, I asked Nitya to tell me something about the mental health situation in India. I had intended to use what he wrote to write an article on it, but his response was so good I have decided to simply share his letter, minus any personal stuff.

Since his description and writing were so good, I asked him if he would be willing to write about more things I asked for, and he enthusiastically agreed. Since I now have several more letters from him, I decided to make a special publication for them. Here is his response about the mental health issues that are plaguing India today.

Yes Katrina I am glad you asked. This is actually a matter of utmost importance — the critical state of mental health in India. As a concerned global…

--

--

Katrina Haney
Letters From India

Writer of poetry and prose in politics, love, mental health, personal stories; creative writer, Book: Blood Rage; Top Writer in Poetry and Government