Game of Thrones and the House of Belonging

Katherine Kwong
Letters & Landscapes
3 min readAug 22, 2017
pc: marie claire

I don’t know about you, but have you found yourself in a discussion with friends, family or coworkers where the only topic was Game of Thrones?

You’re not alone. A recent Washington Post article offered commiseration and advice to those who don’t watch the hit HBO adaption. Suggestions ranged from asking the most open ended question: “Who do you think will sit on the Iron throne?” To just ignoring it all and getting more work done.

During a my summer internship, I found out that three fourths of the office watched Game of Thrones and it promptly took over every lunch discussion. Now, I didn’t want to be left out of the discussion, plus I think parts of the show are kind of cool.

So, thanks to well-written recaps, select Youtube clips and GOT Wiki (thanks fans) I not only snuck into lunch time rehashes, but also learned what was going down in Westerns — the mythical land of George R.R. Martin’s book series.

I won’t watch the show because I know that not all the content is epic battles and intrigue: alot of it is pretty violent and pretty sexual. I’ve got limits on that stuff.

So, while not an viewer of the show myself, I successfully passed myself off as a GOT fan until one of my coworkers asked directly if I watched the show. The game was up. But, despite knowing I skirted the fringes of fandom, I remained an included member in the breakdowns of the most recent episode over lunch.

I felt like I not only belonged in the discussion, but also had points to throw out and was therefore part of the office.

The fact was: I felt like I belonged in the conversation. With any social situation on any kind of team, there is a deep an innate desire within all of us to belong. And sometimes, we’ll do what it takes to achieve that level of acceptance.

All encompassing discussions in the office and the desire to feel a part of those or not, is another manifestation of the desire to belong in our culture.

In Westeros we find characters both complex and cruel. The show’s production value, not mention stunning views of Northern Ireland make it one of the best fantasy worlds on TV right now. And with searing political drama, too hot romance and epic battles, watch parties and more — the allure of the show is clear.

HBO’s Game of Thrones is showing us how much we crave a part in a big uncertain story. With seven seasons, one could almost make a bingo card to cross off all the twists and turns in the plot. Picking the champion for the Iron Throne is just another question of who we would follow if given the chance to change the world. Dragons or siege? Poison or duel? Family or friends?

Die hard fans may call me cheap for keeping up with the show the way I do. You may be rooting for House Stark or even somehow, that House Lannister may reform itself. And who knows, maybe House Targareayn is the way to go. Either way, with talk of the Iron Throne providing a fantasy world of intrigue and relief from our own: my cards are for the House of Belonging.

--

--