Overlapping Spheres

Katherine Kwong
Letters & Landscapes
2 min readAug 30, 2017
pc: graf1x.com

Pick a color, any color. Imagine that color is the color of your circle. Inside the circle is the sphere of your life so far. It’s a kind of globe of where you’ve been and where you’re going. We walk with our spheres surrounding us everywhere we go.

They aren’t like bubbles, they are more like Venn Diagrams. Everyone time you come in contact with someone else; your sphere’s overlap and something new is created in that space.

pc: Template.net

There are many examples. Sometimes we overlap with people who build us up, contribute and change the very color or make up of our sphere giving us something new that we didn’t have before. Other times, we encounter incompatibility or destructive encounters. Those two great shaded in areas where our experiences clash with others.

Sometimes we encounter other people and other spheres day after day in rapid succession and it’s exciting. But, there are times when the pace of our life will change and we’ll encounter different spheres or sometimes circles of people we have known for a long time.

We slow down. We wish we could speed up.

That’s where I am right now. That strange limbo orbit between internship and job: post-graduate independence and living at home.

I have to realize that the terms aren’t set by definition. What I have in my sphere is not all there is.

Why am I where I am now?

Am I willing to be surprised by the new spaces created by overlap?

Where am I looking to contribute and overlap?

Where does everything I’ve seen and done so far fit?

Or as La La Land so aspiringly sang:

“A bit of madness is key
To give us new colors to see
Who knows where it will lead us?
And that’s why they need us”

That’s why we need to bring on the opportunities to not just extend our spheres and circles, but overlap them as well. It’s a messy, risky space: but it reminds to keep seeking insight into what I think I know.

--

--