LIFE

Dear Daughter, Seeing Your Joy is the Best Thing in the World

You faced your fears bravely and surprised us all. You’re awesome.

ZZ Meditations
Letters to my Dear Daughter

--

Image created by “AI tool Microsoft Bing Image Creator powered by DALL·E” — the author has the provenance and copyright.

Dear daughter,

Yesterday, we took you on your first proper snow experience. We went sledding. I’ll admit I was skeptical. You tend to resist and fear trying new things, but you’ve proven me wrong, baby girl. You were fearless! You loved it. I am so proud of you.

I keep telling you that the things you fear the most are usually the ones you desire most. You must face your fears head-on and just go for it. If you fail, so what? But if you succeed and like it, you’ll be rewarded beyond your wildest dreams.

Always take the risks, baby girl.

Seek them out. Try new things. Be open to new experiences. This is how we grow. This is how we explore the world and ourselves.

Staying in our comfort zone is stagnation.

It is a slow death. To live fully is to experience new things, take risks, and venture far outside our comfort zone. No, it won’t always be as fun and easy as sledding, but the risks that work out far outweigh those that don’t.

Staying in your comfort zone is succumbing to fear. Taking the risk on something never before experienced is being brave and bold.

Like I always say, my darling: “Life is either an adventure or nothing at all!”

You are young. You don’t know yet what you don’t know.

There will be countless things you’ll love passionately but have never tried. The only way to find out what you like is by trying it at least once.

Yesterday was also the first day you showed your grandpa you liked him. It feels like you went from being afraid of the man keeping your distance to being best friends in less than a week. We were all gobsmacked at how much affection you showed him suddenly. None of us were good enough, just your grandad. It warmed my heart, and I can confidently tell him that he loved it! You might just melt the old grumpy. If anyone can, you can.

So, what are we trying out next?

What’s the next new thing you’re afraid to experience? I’m game if you’re game. I don’t want to push you as I know you’ll just fight me, which would do more damage than good. So, you lead the way. Let me know when you are ready, and we’ll find a way.

I love you. I am proud of you, Dad.

I write weekly letters to my daughter and to all the daughters of the world. If this is the only content you’re here for, you can choose to subscribe and only receive these letters, or on Medium you can follow the publication Letters to my dear daughter. But you’ll be missing out. :)

Thanks for reading and helping by liking, commenting, and sharing! It means a lot.

--

--

ZZ Meditations
Letters to my Dear Daughter

I write about the mind, perspectives, inner peace, happiness, life, trading, philosophy, fiction and short stories. https://zzmeditations.substack.com/