Sharing Stories

Finding Connections

--

www.gingerfunksblog.com
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Non-members can find this Originally published at http://gingerfunksblog.com on April 7, 2024.

This week I am doing something a little different. In an effort to be consistent with posting I didn’t want to not post.

I wanted to share some stories I have read by others in dealing with loss. These are stories that have not only touched me but have connected me with others going through grief.

I want to share the story of Love. Love lost her son suddenly when he passed from an asthma attack. I connected with her through Medium, another blog I write on.

I can’t remember how I found Love and her stories, but the universe has ways of connecting us with people who are meant to come into our lives. She has a collection of personal encounters with signs she received after her son passed. She said she has received hundreds and has journaled about them for over 16 years.

Here are two of them:

It is stories that bring us together. They connect us. Whether they are stories of grief or stories of joy. Sometimes they are funny or embarrassing stories.

We write stories (and in my case letters) for ourselves, but they are often for others to read. There is a solitude in writing and reading, however, stories can be so much better when we have someone to share them with.

What is a story if you have no one to share it with?

Even in writing these letters to my father, I want to share them in hopes that others will find some way to connect with me. To know that what may feel abnormal in their grief is actually normal. Be it anger, sadness or maybe even laughter.

A friend once told me that she never realized how lonely grief can be. Yet when we read stories, it’s a way of connecting and sharing our feelings. We feel understood.

Do you have a story you would like to share with me? Feel free to email me at gingerfunk78@gmail.com. I would love to share your story. Maybe through sharing our stories we can share our pain. Share our love.

Maybe we can help each other find healing.

Sending you all much love and thank you for reading.

--

--