46: Awe

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon
Published in
8 min readJan 30, 2021

--

Aug 22, 2020 — Hours after my second show

January 30, 2021

Dearest Solomon,

Today is my 46th birthday. I know I haven’t written much lately, but we’ve been through extraordinary times and those moments require more reflection not less. This last year was a new challenge not just for me, but for the entire world.

2020, how can I explain it? In short, the whole world got turned upside down and inside out while grilling on an open wildfire. Basically, it sucked in so many ways. But, as I have hopefully instilled in you, not everything is as bad as it seems.

I had first thought my theme for this year was resiliency, but then I thought how cliche, unhelpful, and misinformed that label would be. It isn’t that we proved resilient, but how and why matter so much more.

My theme this year is awe, like as in awesome. We tend to think of that as a positive these days, but awe is something much more than that. It’s defined as “a feeling of reverential respect mixed with fear or wonder.”

I found myself in awe many times this year and I’d like to share why with you today.

Awe of Nature

There’s nothing more humbling than nature. Whether it was the Covid-19 or the climate, nature proved she was the Mother of all and not to be messed with.

--

--

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon

Perpetual entrepreneur. Advisor to founding teams. Husband to Maria. Father to Solomon. Fan of fashion. Trying to stay fit.