Six

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon
Published in
4 min readMay 27, 2021

May 27, 2021

Dearest Solomon,

Happy 6th birthday, son. We made it through what can only be described as one of the most challenging years in the short history we’ve occupied. But not that you would have noticed — you took it all in stride.

Last year, I wrote to you about the 5 senses and how I could see them all in your life. This year, let me see if I can’t tell you about the 6th sense. Aside from being a pretty good movie, the 6th sense is not really a sense at all but a recognition of everything beyond that. It’s also defined as the “reception of information not gained through the recognized physical senses”.

To me, it’s about your intuitions and your ability to draw conclusions from the information around you. Throughout the last year, I’ve started to see these subtle things that still leave me in awe. I likely can’t do justice to them, but let me try to illustrate some of these things so hopefully, you’ll continue to double down on them.

Right and Wrong

Children learn from the examples set by their parents, friends, and family. I have many a friend who struggles with their own children but we have been blessed with a child whose greatest fear seems to be being called a “bad boy”.

I consider ourselves lucky that outside of the things we help you understand about right and wrong, you seem to already have established your own rules for right and wrong, fair and unfair, and good and bad. I am sure I am just a doting Dad here, but so be it.

You may not always know what to do, but if you can keep these small traits close to your heart, I know you will do the right thing.

Exploration

If you had asked me before now if I considered you adventurous, I would have scoffed at the idea. You’re so much like I remember myself as a child. Inwardly focused, awkward around others, allergic to outside, and mildly obsessive with knowledge as it comes your way.

I was wrong. I used to think you were too cautious, unwilling to explore. But the more I see you grow and evolve, I realize that your exploration is inwards. Maybe not fully as an introspection into who you are, but an exploration of the many worlds within that others don’t take the time to see or care to see.

What we may observe as solitude are adventures on their own. I’ve come to appreciate them more and more. I hope you continue to be the adventurer you are at heart, it will be a great source of empathy and power in your life.

Exuberance

“This boy doesn’t get tired,” your Grandma Patsy said to me the other day as you went into your 8th hour of straight play and wander. All children seem to teem with energy, but exuberance is a different matter. Not all movement is efficient.

Much as I have come to see that your exploration is an inner form of adventure, I now see that your exuberance is an expression of your own expertise. The zeal with which you dive into things has no match — just ask anyone to incorrectly identify a dinosaur or monster truck if they doubt me.

Time wears us down. It makes us jaded and gives way to convenience. Keep that energy level where it’s at, inspire others to their best, and keep pushing yourself to new limits. That is the only way to be infinite, yourself.

Experimentation

A scientist at heart, it seems. Before this year, I hadn’t observed you trying to “wire” things together as much as you have in the last 6 months. As you see the lines and forces between things, you’re starting to not only use those boundaries but to test them.

From tricks with water to telling your first joke, you’re starting to use the knowledge you are acquiring and combining it in new and interesting ways. As a tinker and builder at heart, it fills me with pride to see you trying new things and conquering things along the way.

Please don’t give up on the first try. Everything we do is just one step in the process. I know you will continue to experiment, push the limits, and likely fall down — but not as many times as you get up.

I’m proud of how much you’ve changed this last year, son.
I’m happy we got through all this together and healthy.
I’m excited to see the world through your eyes — even if it’s through tears from time to time.

Happy sixth birthday, son.

Love always,
Dad

--

--

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon

Perpetual entrepreneur. Advisor to founding teams. Husband to Maria. Father to Solomon. Fan of fashion. Trying to stay fit.