The Not-So-Invisible Shadow

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2020
Pops and I, a lifetime apart

May 18, 2020

Dearest Solomon,

I always try to remember this day. It’s the day your grandpa passed, 21 years ago. Sometimes, this day is filled with anger, others it is filled with regrets. Today, however, I’d like to fill it with fondness. As much as I have felt discomfort with how things were with my dad, but time has proven it wasn’t all bad and I have much to be grateful for.

My dad was quite the character. I’ve been thinking about Pops lately for lots of reasons. Most recently, I was trying to understand the similarities and differences between us. I found lots of things in common, actually, and I wanted to share a little bit about them.

The Entrepreneur

If there was one trait that I think I have inherited from my dad, it’s entrepreneurship. All of your grandparents were immigrants to America. They sought out lives here so that your mom and I could excel and thrive. As with most immigrants, they were hard workers.

Pops worked for others when he first arrived, but he eventually found his way to real estate. He was always ambitious and I am happy and proud to say he succeeded in so many of his goals.

I’ve only heard the rumor, but apparently, at one point Pops held the record in New York for selling the most houses. Maybe it’s lore, but I believe it. Pops hustled all the time, put in ridiculous hours, and grew his business to cover every borough. He was good at what he did and inspired so many other members of our family down the same path.

I never went into real estate, but I was an entrepreneur since I was a kid. I couldn’t imagine my life any other way. I always laugh to myself, though, when I think back to when I decided not to go to med school and your grandparents were surprised I was going to start my own business.

What did they think I was gonna do?

The Salesman

It probably goes without saying, but being an entrepreneur requires that you be able to communicate and sell your dream. Selling is the lifeblood of your business. Ironically, not everyone is good at this, but the best of us will figure it out.

Pops really could sell. I never really got to see him negotiate or anything up close, we were too young then. But I could always see him around people. I could see how so many people were drawn to him and how he would be able to engage with them.

Now, I don’t think I am a salesperson like my dad. I love talking about something, anything, I am passionate about — but I usually hate asking for money. But whenever I see someone’s eye twinkle as I get them to turn that proverbial corner, I like to think Pops would be smiling down on me.

The Entertainer

I think it’s a Narain thing, but I see it everywhere with all of our family. Never too serious and quick with the wit. Ask anyone who knows one of us and you’ll get some variation on that theme.

Pops was no exception. Wherever he went, you could hear people laughing. Whenever he was speaking, you could see people listening. He could hold a crowd and loved being at the center of it.

There’s something special about being able to be completely serious and completely the opposite all at the same time. I miss all the jokes (even though I should likely have not been hearing them in the first place). So many good times.

I can’t imagine being anything better, to be honest.

We’re all so much than the flesh and bones that hold us in this world, son. We’re each a unique amalgamation of our genetics, relationships, and experiences. Too often, we make the mistake of thinking that one thing defines us — but that thing stands atop the shoulders of much more.

It wasn’t until Pops was looking down on me that I realized how much he was holding me up. I wish I could have known then what I know now. I guess the journey is a mystery for a reason, otherwise what would be left for us to discover?

Always remember, son, that I see you wherever I am. I look forward to the day you see me, too. Hopefully, we’ll be side-by-side.

Love always,
Dad

--

--

Gregarious Narain
Letters to Solomon

Perpetual entrepreneur. Advisor to founding teams. Husband to Maria. Father to Solomon. Fan of fashion. Trying to stay fit.