dearest

sarah warden
letters to the only her
1 min readSep 4, 2020

--

odPhoto by Joyce G on Unsplash

i did not think of you today
my darling

the sun rose
the dirt path beckoned
the logical trees stood strong in their logic
while life chittered about
on the forest floor

the sun rose
harshly
i shielded my eyes
lost balance
recovered
by leaning to the right
remembered leaning into you
that june afternoon
as we walked
your hand in my back pocket
when i didn’t even remember you
but felt years of you
whenever my body touched yours
in a casual hug

i did think of you today
my darling

accidentally
when i lost balance

i do that too often
find comfort in leaning
always to the right
where your arm cradled me
while i worked up the courage to tilt my head
toward you
your hand reached down to my back pocket

i do so want that moment back
that i must conjur its memory
daily

i did not think of you
today
my darling
i fell into you
as the sun rose

--

--