i woke today and thought of you

sarah warden
letters to the only her
2 min readAug 29, 2020

--

Photo by GoaShape on Unsplash

i woke today and thought of you
as i think of you
on all days

today the wind cut through
breaking southern humidity
the plants with their miracles held up
battered but grateful for some reprieve
the miscanthus sinensis welcomed a trio of rabbits
one by one
each taking their place as the storm raged
and i sat on the porch with coffee and an absence

of course it had to be rabbits
any other animal could have sheltered in my view
but there they were
all three of them
one by one
so i wouldn’t miss it
rabbits

the universe winks at me
pokes at me
with reminders of you
daily
it is a trick of the mind
a fallacy
to glean any truth from such flights of fancy
the rabbits
are not about me
nothing is really
but the coffee is real
and the absence is real

the rabbits are gone now
the storm is over
but they will be back
to lodge under the miscanthus
again
in some future storm
when a home of tall grass is inviting
but you will not be back

the seasons will change
virginia winter will set in
more welcomed than the unrelenting sun
the rabbits may join me on the porch
hesitatingly
one by one
if the dog is not out here with me
but you will not
join me

i woke today and thought of you
as i think of you
on all days

it is worse with the passing of time
worse with the gaining of memory

of course i missed you
i want to scream
when i still remembered you
of course i missed you
the things i said to cover my inability to remember
haunt me
as they should
of course i missed you

i woke today and thought of you
the wind is carrying the smell of the sea
darling adventurer
i woke today and thought of you
as i think of you
on all days

--

--