How to Spend Free Time Productively

Amanda Johnson
Level Up!
Published in
4 min readOct 11, 2018

by Amanda Johnson, Employee Motivation Consultant for ClickHelp.com — professional technical writing tool

When I have free time, I don’t want just waste it on Facebook or Instagram newsfeed. I want to learn something new, but, at the same time, I’m usually tired for reading encyclopedias or listening to courses after my office hours. So, I found some sites for me to get information in the game format, and I am going to share them with you. I also add some websites that help me relax and develop my imagination. Here is my list.

Radiooooo

You can choose a date and a country to listen to what music was popular there.

Liveplasma

According to your preferences, the site recommends you films or music that you will certainly like.

GeoGuessr

This service opens a random picture of a city and you should guess where it’s located.

Museum of Endangered Sounds

Do you forget how ICQ sounds? You can refresh your memory thanks to this website.

Pixel art icon constructor

In my previous article (that you can read here: How Social Media Kills Your Motivation), I mentioned virtual reality and that we already lived in such a world because we could choose our personality — just create an account with the desired appearance and skills. So on this site you can create your own pixel appearance.

How do you like my image?

Sounds of Rain

In my post called Best Background Music For Technical Writing, I’ve described what kind of music is the best for working. Rain sounds are also great for this purpose or for relaxing.

Little Alchemy

On this website you can mix items and get something interesting.

Virtual Piano

This free to use platform enables you to play the piano through your computer keyboard, without any need to download or install an app. The best part is that you don’t need prior knowledge of the music notation. The Virtual Piano music sheets use plain English alphabet and simple semantics, so you can enjoy the experience of playing the piano instantly.

The Universe

The model of the universe where you can travel freely.

LoungeV

LoungeV provides a natural ambiance for home and offices with ocean sounds, soothing music and relaxing nature videos in full HD and 4K UHD from some of the most exotic, beautiful and peaceful places in the world such as beaches, rivers, waterfalls, forests, lakes, mountains and underwater.

That’s all. My favourite website is Radiooooo because I like vintage music and this service has all I need to relax and feel happier.

--

--