Know what you don’t know.

How reading can help you stay inspired and motivated.

Mary Fox
Leveling Up: Design Your Career
4 min readOct 15, 2017

--

You have the power to accomplish anything you want to. It will take work and it will take time. For me, the best part of the journey is RIGHT NOW.

It’s that moment when you’re just putting your toe in a few ideas and seeing what feels good. Reading is one of the best ways to find your direction.

The best lesson I’ve learned over the years is that I don’t know what I don’t know. Reading and listening to podcasts are an efficient way to absorb tons of information in a relatively short amount of time.

I’m particularly drawn toward stories of innovation and change. I love learning how people picked up a new skill or found a better way to build an engine.

We own our intelligence and whatever we learn is ours to keep and share.

There are a few books that I’ve listened to on repeat (audible.com) They’re like 10–20 hours each so to get through them faster, I slowly crank up the speed to about 180% (which is surprisingly easy to get used to) and then I listen during my commute.

Some concepts feel new. Others are nice reminders. Either way, I get to the office feeling inspired and motivated. I’m able to take some ideas and apply them immediately to my day-to-day work life. Other concepts and ideas stay in the back of my mind until they pop up in some unplanned situation.

When you think of celebrities or successful business people, it’s easy to think they succeeded because they were unique or special. It’s almost never the case.

1. Essentialism (by Greg McKeown)

Right before the holidays, a few women in my network recommended I read Essentialism. I haven’t been able to stop listening to it on Audible. Think of this book as the best friend in your ear that says “do you really want to do this? Is this a good use of your time? Just say no! Don’t forget to have fun while you’re living this crazy thing we call life.” I can’t recommend this book enough.

2. Elon Musk (by Ashlee Vance)

Elon’s smart. He’s also an asshole to work for. I’ve listened to this book a couple times now because it gets me motivated to think outside the box. I really admire Elon’s way of finding the least expensive, good-enough way to get things done. Sometimes you just have to get stuff done and shipped. Elon’s approach is great. More than that, he’s a dreamer and genuinely believes in his dreams when others think he’s crazy. For me, the takeaway is “Don’t be a dick like Elon…do be innovative, creative, and driven”.

3. The Hard Thing About the Hard Things (by Ben Horowitz)

I listened to this book on the bus last summer. Ben has been through hell in his career. When you read this, you’ll start to get a strong sense for why success is simply about never giving up. Sometimes you have to shift gears, but if you quit it’s over. Ben never really quit. Don’t quit. Please, just don’t quit.

4. The Innovators (by Walter Isaacson)

If you don’t like technical jargon, this book might be a bit slow for you. That being said, it’s a great guide to how technology has come to what we know today. This is a book I’d normally never pickup but I love the way Walter Isaacson writes so I gave it a shot. People. Read this book, please.

5. Steve Jobs (by Walter Isaacson)

Maybe I have a bit of an ego (we all do, right?), or maybe this book is just exactly what I think it is. It’s a reminder that the late Steve Jobs was creative and driven — but he wasn’t particularly brilliant in the way other innovators have proven to be brilliant. Mr. Jobs was a doer. He was someone who found an idea (often borrowing that idea from others) and turned it into reality. After listening to this book, it became clear to me that he wasn’t a particularly super-human guy. He was just a guy who quickly saw opportunity where others were too afraid to see it. I’ve listened to this book a couple times and walk away feeling like…well, if Steve can do it, anyone can do it. He wasn’t as superhuman as you might think.

6. The Daily Show: The Book (by Chris Smith)

Even funny shows have a unique and slightly serious history. It’s not always perfect and bright.

7. Start With Why (by Simon Sinek)

Start with Why is more for making sure you’re moving in the right direction from a professional standpoint. Simon explains it best in his TED talk here.

What are we missing? What books keep you motivated?

This article was first published here.

--

--

Mary Fox
Leveling Up: Design Your Career

Runner. Geek. CEO @ Marlow (getmarlow.com). We help translate ideas and goals — turning them into reality.