Leveraging Design Thinking to Help Covid-19 Frontliners

Min Xiong
5 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Nurses in Bicol Regional Training and Teaching Hospital saying thank you to Face Shields: photo taken by Dr Dave Resoco, MD.

The COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting lockdown have created some difficulties for many people. To improve morale and beat the blues, I would like to share a positive story from a UX designer and how he has leveraged design thinking to help Covid-19 frontliners today.

Help and support others, be kind and compassionate — using 3D printers to produce medical equipment — a story from Harris Rainier

I love to help people — this is something in my DNA and it makes me happy. During this pandemic, I joined a group of volunteers to use 3D printers to produce medical Face Shields, Ear Guards and Aerosol Boxes for key workers. The reason for my initiative is that I would like to protect our frontliners and reduce the risk of them being infected, so we can get out of this pandemic soon. My tasks are to coordinate the effort, help to mobilise people and ensure that the end products can be safely distributed to doctors, nurses and police who are protecting us and saving lives. To date, we delivered over 2000 pieces. It is humbling how great our volunteers are to get involved and how generous they are with their time. It has been a truly collective effort and I am proud that I can add value to this charitable cause!” — Harris

To probe deeper, I interviewed Harris further with aim to understand his thought process and how he did what he did.

# 1 Could you explain the stakeholder relationship in this initiative, please? For example, who are they, what do they do and what do you do?

Harris: We have Sponsors, Suppliers, Makers, Volunteers and Beneficiaries. Everyone has their own roles and responsibilities. I am one of the organisers in this project and work with all stakeholders. My responsibilities include: help to fundraise and campaigning for Sponsors; source materials from Suppliers who supply 3D printers’ materials, i.e. filaments, PVC sheets and rubber bands; search for Makers who own 3D printers and coordinate with Volunteers and manage the Beneficiary database.

#2 Since you are a UX designer, what value did you add with reference to the design process and the success of the final products?

Harris: I have used our classic design thinking process to solve problems. The five stages of design thinking are as follows: Empathise, Define (the problem), Ideate, Prototype, and Test. The process allows the project to be efficient, transparent and delivers the best solutions to the people who need them the most.

Empathise: This is the first stage of my thinking process. I learned that there is a shortage of medical equipment from the media and I became concerned. I decided to do some research on the topic and engage with healthcare professionals to understand their experience and have a clear personal understanding of the subject, needs and challenges involved.

Define (the Problem): I interviewed some of my friends who are working in hospitals and discovered that if frontline key workers don’t have enough personal protective equipment (PPEs), they would get infected more easily. Healthcare professionals rely on PPEs to protect themselves and their patients from infectious diseases.

Ideate: How can I help? After brainstorming and discussing the topic with 3D printer owners, medical doctors and other volunteers, I was convinced that 3D printers are the most convenient and suitable solution compared to other D.I.Y. versions. The idea is feasible and logistically is doable. Since it is medical equipment, 3D printers can provide the optimum quality if we follow the strict guidelines.

Prototype: I got the initial design templates from a volunteer group called “3D Printing for a Cause PH”. They are the first group I know of in the Philippines to address the need for medical supplies with 3D printing. I admire their effort and their work inspired me. As for the prototyping, I validated the design templates, sent to Makers, and then worked with them to test the design specifications with the real printers. My focus at this stage was really about what would be the best products/solutions for our medical practitioners.

Test: As a UX designer, my experience taught me the importance of validating the design and prototypes with users. Once we were satisfied with the prototypes, we sent the samples to hospitals and asked doctors and nurses to provide feedback, for example, how was the fitting, was it comfortable enough and what adjustment we should make etc. After receiving the feedback, we revised the prototypes and then sent another version to them to retest until the final products were accepted and approved.

#3 The pictures speak for themselves. Do you have any photos which you can share here?

Harris: please see the photos below and note that the photos are taken by Dr Dave Resoco, MD.

Product 1: Face Shields

Images from left to right: Prototype of a face shield frame; A face shield frame and mask ear guards are printing out from a 3D printer; A group of volunteers assembling face shields.

Product 2: Ear Guards for Face Masks

Images from left to right: An ear guard printing out from a 3D printer; various prototypes; and people testing ear guards

Product 3: Aerosol Boxes

Images from left to right: A doctor validating and testing an Aerosol Prototype Box; A Maker prototyping an Aerosol Box; Two volunteers assembling an Aerosol Box;

Photos of Beneficiaries

Images from left to right: A very cool Medical Director in one of the Regional Hospitals posing with peace sign; Police using the face shields on duty; Surgeons using the Face shields in Operating Room

--

--

Min Xiong

Global Head of Content UX at LexisNexis, enjoys traveling, reading, and passionate about inclusive design, innovation and accessibility