Transgender Politics

What!!! Anti-Transgender States

What do I do now that my state has Anti-trans laws passed?

Beauty Girl
LGBTQTIA+ Elite

--

Photo by Raphael Renter on Unsplash

You recently found out that your state has passed an Anti-trans law discriminating against you, affected by what could drastically change your future. What do you do when you are faced with this unbearable harmful law that will jeopardize your ability to transition into the gender that you prefer? This affects children who are transitioning and even adults under the age of 26 because those laws don’t care if you are an adult either.

As for children, this is really hard especially if you are younger. You still have options though and I would suggest that you take them if you need them. I would recommend a Gender friendly therapist to minimize the risk of suicide, but in addition to that you will have to be very strong and hold out until you are the age of 18, which you can still change at that age, not too late. Depending on how your family might be, you could consider asking to live with relatives in an accepting state. These are not always ideal, but going through this your life is worth everything.

As a person who is age 18 and above, I would completely recommend living outside of the state with the anti-trans laws if you want to get the most care. You can always have the chance to stay with friends, go to college in a different state, or just simply move to another state.

Together, both child and adult could still attempt to ask their doctor for the necessary medication to change, whether the doctor fulfills that request is entirely up to the doctor with the law in place. After all, they have a Modern Hippocratic Oath to help those in need.

In the end, you have to make the best decision for your own survival even if that means making great sacrifices for your own happiness. I believe that if you know you are trans that you will make the right decision. These are only some of the possibilities of what you can do.

Under no circumstance should suicide ever be an option to this because there is always a brighter future at the end of the tunnel, even if it takes longer to get there. You have to be strong, fight for your life, fight for your rights, and hold on to your values as a human being.

Modern Hippocratic Oath

I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgment, this covenant:

I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.

I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures [that] are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism.

I will remember that there is art to medicine as well as science, and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon’s knife or the chemist’s drug.

I will not be ashamed to say “I know not,” nor will I fail to call in my colleagues when the skills of another are needed for a patient’s recovery.

I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.

I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person’s family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick.

I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.

I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm.

If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.

--

--

Beauty Girl
LGBTQTIA+ Elite

Primarily Talking About Trans folk Topics and LGBTQ+ Support. Occasionally off-topic for other matters. “She/her”