As a Trans Man, This Is Why I Hold Witchcraft Dear to My Heart

There are more similarities between witchcraft and the LGBTQ+ community than you might think.

BoomerTheWitch
LGBTQueer-ies

--

Grimoire and Spell Materials
Grimoire and Spell Materials created with Canva

Being transgender can be difficult. Sometimes it’s because of internal conflict caused by gender dysphoria, anxiety, or depression. Other times it’s due to the ignorance or hatred of others.

Practicing witchcraft also attracts some ignorant attention.

Christianity is the religious norm within the majority of the U.S. and being a cisgender, white male is the highest level of privilege. I’m lucky to have been born white, but I still face discrimination for transitioning my gender, being magical and spiritual in my everyday life, and being a part of Paganism.

But there are many reasons I continue practicing witchcraft as a transgender man. Below are just five.

Options

One of the many reasons I love witchcraft and Paganism is because there is no wrong or right way to do either — the same with gender expression.

When you think of a witch, what is the first thing that comes to your mind? Probably not a transgender, American individual who works with an Earth goddess and a Hindu god, huh?

--

--

BoomerTheWitch
LGBTQueer-ies

Hi! I’m Boomer and I have been doing witchcraft for about two years now. Here to teach any newbies or experienced witches out there.