Listening is Step Two When Advocating for Your Transgender Kid

It comes right after, I love you just the way you are.

MaryRose Denton
LGBTQueer-ies

--

Ask me any question you need to mum, says Jace.

He steps out into the busy crosswalk. It is already flashing its warning before it turns red. 9 seconds, 8, 7, 6… My hurried steps try to catch up with his.

I do have questions. Many questions.

I reach the curb and look over at him and nod.

Ok, I say. But walk, don’t run, and I will walk with you.

A phrase from his childhood. I could have been referring to crossing the street. But then again, the deeper meaning spoke to this new way of life.

Several weeks had passed since I had seen Jace, in the flesh anyway. He was busy at school and I busied myself with work and daily life. My list of questions regarding his transition grew each day, playing in the background of my mind.

He was socially transitioning first, he explained. I understood, consciously getting used to using his name and pronouns. Would this ever get easier?

Other thoughts surfaced too such as,

  • How does this work?
  • How fast will this transition go?

--

--

MaryRose Denton
LGBTQueer-ies

Writer/Speaker/Advocate, Come join me as I make a life by doing something with total love & pure soul. maryrosedentonwriter.com or maryrosedenton8@gmail.com.