What I Need to Unify Right Now

After leaving the left for liberty in 2020, I know unity is not the easy way out. Real unity starts from within.

Sienna Mae Heath
Liberation Day

--

This guest essay from Braver Angels member Sienna Mae Heath is being published ahead of FreedomFest, where she will speak on a panel called “Creating Unity in a Divided World,” after a screening of her film ‘Real Unity,’ on July 24th, 2021. Image: Unsplash by Dingzeyu Li.
Unsplash by Dingzeyu Li

I’m not sure I’m ready to unify with everyone right now. There are just some things I cannot reckon with.

A call to unite naturally shines light on division. As the divide grows, certain stories seem to be treated as more equal than others. We, human beings, are made of stories. This strike at the healing balm of storytelling is tearing our country apart, family by family, school by school, and beyond.

Through all this, I’m discovering the need to set boundaries so that I can give many of my relationships a chance. My intention is to express what I need to unify right now with the hope of inspiring you, dear reader, to express your needs for real unity.

To speak about unity, it is necessary to speak about division, as to speak about freedom it is necessary to speak about oppression. To speak about liberty, it might help to explore how uplifting the individual’s liberties can uplift the collective from the grassroots.

Unity, in my view, is only possible through radical acceptance of these paradoxes. By embracing the paradox of the United States of America, we can begin to embrace each other.

--

--