How to Make That Passionate Declaration to Your Special Lady

Timing is everything

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty
Published in
7 min readJul 28, 2021

--

Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

Okay, men, let’s talk. Not long ago, I wrote an article about how much women long for passionate men — and I was surprised by some of the comments and email responses it inspired about #MeToo, stalkers, and how feminism allegedly destroyed men’s ability to express their feelings for women.

I realize that most of that feedback was made by deeply misogynistic men who are always searching the internet for women to intimidate. But I also observed that there was some genuine confusion about when and how a man can express his passion.

So let’s break this down.

The Movie vs. Real Life Dilemma

Okay, maybe I made a mistake by using the example of Colin Firth in Love Actually parading into a restaurant to propose to a woman he loves, even though he barely knows her. Let me make it clear that I chose this as an example of a passionate man because:

a) it demonstrates a man who isn’t afraid to fall in love again (something I have found so rare in my dating experience) and

b) he demonstrated clear passion to someone who had indicated a mutual attraction.

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Adventuring & nesting in middle age. Welcome to my second act. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: hello@ylwolfe.com