I’m in My Middle-Aged Nesting Phase

Yes, it’s a thing

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

--

Photo by Polina Tankilevitch via Pexels

My laundry room is an absolute mess. And you can count on it being a mess 95% of the time. I don’t know what it is about that room, but I just cannot keep it uncluttered. And though that might not sound like a big deal, let me fully illustrate this problem by pointing out that every single time I want to do a load of laundry, I have to take a momentary pause so I can tidy up, because the washing machine is usually buried under a pile of stuff.

I suppose this might be a common problem. Does anyone have a truly tidy laundry room?

For me, it’s the de facto entrance to my home. I don’t use my front door. My car is in the garage, which means I come and go through my back door — which is situated on the exterior wall of the laundry room.

And you know what that means. Every single piece of detritus that I pick up in the world, or put on to venture out there, ends up or resides in that tiny little room: jackets, scarves, purses, sunglasses, receipts, reusable shopping bags, mail, bottles to recycle…and on and on. And that’s not even to mention the laundry supplies that are stored in this area.

I live in a very tiny house that has almost no storage. The laundry room measures exactly my height from wall to wall. (I’m 5’7”.) Above the washer and dryer is one…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com