It’s Time for Gen X Women to Shine

We’re done paying our dues

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty
Published in
8 min readSep 12, 2023

--

Photo by cottonbro studio via Pexels

Do you know why I love millennials? Because they came into this world knowing their worth. Knowing they deserved better than what was waiting for them.

It’s the polar opposite of the way Gen Xers like me were conditioned. We came into a world where spanking was still the norm, questioning the status quo was seen as rebellion, and any evidence of faltering self-sufficiency was considered a personal failure. You don’t expect a lot in life when you come home to an empty house and learn how to cook and do your own laundry by the time you’re eight.

Then millennials burst onto the scene, entering the workforce with an entitlement I’d never seen before. They came into assistant positions in my school district and make it known to all that they were unhappy with their wages and expected more. They even defined “more” with actual numbers.

I’ll admit, it sometimes annoyed me. Those numbers they threw around were my salary. Me, a teacher in her thirties with over a decade of work experience under her belt and a master’s degree. And these young coworkers felt they deserved my salary before they even had their bachelor’s degrees.

But at some point, I realized they were right about what they deserved. Those numbers they threw around were not at all…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Adventuring & nesting in middle age. Welcome to my second act. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: hello@ylwolfe.com