Men Are Suffering From Hug Starvation

If we’re going to talk about epidemics among men, this one needs to make headlines

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

--

Photo by Kampus Production via Pexels

How long has it been since you last had sex? Have you ever noticed that the longer it’s been, the more shameful it is? If you’re a woman and it’s been more than two months…yikes. What is wrong with you? And if you’re a man…you’re lucky if you can go two weeks without getting shamed by your entire circle of male “friends.”

Thankfully, in hookup culture, it’s relatively easy to remedy this problem. I’m not sure that’s a good thing, but at least you can hop on Tinder and get laid in order to get your fix and prevent further shaming (if you’re a man, that is — women will get shamed both for not having sex and for having it).

Now let me ask you this: When was the last time you got a hug? Please note, I would like to specifically ask cishet men this question.

Before you answer, let me be clear that I’m talking about a straight up, textbook hug. I’m not talking about the embraces of sexual intercourse. I’m not talking about a makeout session. I’m not talking about a hug given as an act of “foreplay” (a concept I don’t even believe in).

That doesn’t mean that the hug has to come from a platonic relationship. You can count a hug from a wife…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com