The Auntie Era Has Arrived

An increasing amount of women are opting out of motherhood…but are still raising the children of the world

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

--

Photo by Elena Pasenko via Scopio

I have just spent the past two months working late nights, traveling back and forth across my state, soothing nonstop tantrums, and cooking, cooking, cooking for six constantly hungry children.

I don’t remember what it feels like to be able to go to bed when my body tells me I’m tired. I don’t remember what it feels like to pee when I have to pee, or eat when I have to eat. I don’t remember what it’s like to go to bed without guzzling two glasses of water when I finally realize I haven’t had a beverage of any kind for the past several hours.

This might not sound noteworthy to some. With the exception of the endless road trips, this pretty much sounds like #momlife, right?

Except I don’t have any living children. This is, believe it or not, #auntlife.

My youngest nephew, Alex, who is four, just had his first open heart surgery to correct some of the many heart defects he was born with. I traveled across the state in early May to be with him for the week before surgery and helped my sister with her other five kids during that very tumultuous time. Then I brought the older five kids home with me, on another trip across the…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com