Why I’m Not Bothered When Men Tell Me I’m Too Old to Date

The only thing that has “hit the wall” is their logic

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

--

Photo by Sam Lion via Pexels

It’s 2023 and this Gen Xer has just decided to take a stab at building an audience on TikTok.

I was dragged there kicking and screaming, if I’m being honest. I understand some people love to look at a camera and talk. But I think that’s a millennial thing. I don’t even like posting photos of myself on Instagram.

However, I wanted a chance to grow my audience. Not much was happening in that department. Have you tried building an audience on Instagram? I honestly don’t know how people do it. In early 2023, I had around 1,200 followers, which is the same amount I’d had for the previous four years. Things were looking dire.

So when my therapist and I started talking about ways I could potentially practice using my voice, she mentioned TikTok might be a good opportunity for that.

There I was, ranting about how people are attacking Madonna for not aging gracefully (as if that’s a thing) and attacking Justine Bateman for aging too gracefully, and suddenly, I was inundated with comments from men saying I’d “hit the wall.”

I had no idea what they were talking about. Obviously, it was an insult, but what did it mean? Any time I had used that…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com