Why We Banished Mothers to Suburban Nuclear Households

You can’t get away with injustice when Mother is around…so the powers that be shut her away

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

--

Photo by kenan zhang via Pexels

This year was the first time I spent Mother’s Day alone, making it a day just for me. I’ve always struggled with Mother’s Day, in part for reasons I do not want to publicly reveal, and partly because I wanted to be a mother, but never got the chance.

I woke up on Mother’s Day and wandered into my kitchen, considering what to have for breakfast. I have been trying to enjoy slow Sunday mornings with a special meal, just like the Sundays of my childhood. And on this Mother’s Day, for the first time in my life, instead of preparing a breakfast for the mothers in my life, I got to think about what I wanted.

I settled on pancakes and made one of the most delicious batches I’ve ever had, covered in butter and maple syrup.

Then I gathered my backpack and a thermos of Earl Grey tea and hiked up into the hills to enjoy the view of the mountains, before descending into the valley where I could sit by the creek and spend the rest of the morning reading and journaling.

I couldn’t stop thinking about mothers and motherhood. In fact, regardless of a day’s proximity to this Sunday celebration of motherhood, I…

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Liberty

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com