Community Focus: Liberty Scholars

It’s time to hear from another fantastic Liberty Gaming scholar on his experiences at Liberty and how it has improved his life

Oliver M
Liberty Metaverse
8 min readMar 28, 2022

--

There’s a wide variety of big news articles coming out of Liberty Gaming, but I have to say Community Focus is one of the most enjoyable. It’s where we have the pleasure of sharing with you the genuine impact the Liberty Gaming scholarship programme has on people’s lives.

This week, Liberty Gaming Discord Coach Jorge Ivan Garcia Chois sat down to chat with our very own Liberty scholar, Josue Ascenzi about his experience so far within the Liberty scholarship programme and what has changed for him personally since he joined us.

Jorge: Would you mind sharing with our community a little about yourself?

Josue: Of course, my name is Josue Ascenzi, I’m 39 years old and I’m from Venezuela. My Discord nickname is Josue Ascenzi#2096. I work as an industrial engineer, but I am also developing as a trader.

Jorge: How would you describe yourself in a few words?

Josue: Focussed, realistic… sometimes a dreamer. I can admittedly be a bit stubborn, with a lot of wit and a little bit of laziness!

Jorge: What are your hobbies and free time activities?

Josue: Well, I love watching movies, good movies. Sports are a big part of my free time activities, mostly soccer and basketball. Something else I like to play in my free time is Dominoes. I am also into Art and Design.

Jorge: What is your dream, or maybe you have a goal in life?

Josue: It’s quite simple…… to do my best in everything I do!

Jorge: How did you hear about the chance to earn money as a scholar?

Josue: Initially through word of mouth from my friends, then through the internet, and finally came across Liberty Gaming on Twitter. You can find anything and everything on the internet, sometimes too much haha.

Jorge: Why did you decide to become a scholar? Why is it important for you?

Josue: I was very much drawn in by Axie for several reasons. The most important of course is the opportunity to earn a real, stable income (I joined Axie because I wanted to be a millionaire haha)…. Also because for me it was not possible to buy a team of Axie due to the cost, and a Liberty scholarship gives you the opportunity to learn from other players, improve and earn an even better income. And during my time as a scholar I have been able to meet a lot of people and make friends so… I decided to go for it.

Jorge: What were your first steps to get a scholarship?

Josue: Well of course I had to find it first, then learn the process to be accepted.And to ask for it… Talking about this scholarship that Liberty Gaming Guild gave me, it was because of a post that Naviplastic put on Twitter, looking for an experienced player to play the Venom compo: Plant with Yam — Fish with Shrimp — and Termi Dusk. So in less than a second I wrote him (I think I was the first one who wrote him for that scholarship). Then there was a good interview through Discord. I entered the Community Discord, fulfilled some easy requirements and here I am with the scholarship…

Jorge: Could you tell us about your work environment?

Josue: Well I’ve been in other communities, one of them related to Axie Infinity, but the environment that this community provides is su much better. The guys are super nice, they help each other, plus the opportunity here is not limited to Axie, but to other ways of earning profits like PlaceWar and many more to come.

Jorge: What are your results as a player now (MMR/range), what do you expect from yourself and what do you want to persevere in?

Josue: Well during my scholarship I have generally been between 1700 and 1800. Sometimes I’ve gone down, like today, to 1500 and I’ve stayed there for a while. To be honest, that ranking is way below my goal, so I hope to increase it in the Off Season and be better at using it. For compositions similar or rather identical to the one I have, I could and should be above 2k cups. That’s my goal and I will not rest until I achieve it!

Jorge: What was the most difficult thing for you, maybe it was something in the game or inviting others to join the server?

Josue: The hardest thing at the beginning was to change my way of seeing Axie and the strategy when playing. This composition requires patience, some cunning, guessing what the opponent is thinking. Another difficult thing was when I asked for help in the first coaching the internet, the super internet of CANTV didn’t let me share screen. It was a low blow, you know? I also overcame moments in which nothing came out of me, no cards, no rotation, no strategy… I thought about quitting but I didn’t. And here I am!

Jorge: What do you like most about Liberty Gaming?

Josue: The coaching that they give to the scholarship holder. It is an excellent style of coaching because they do not criticise or scold the students, but rather patiently teach us how to use the cards and give us an example of how to reason or analyse his Win Condition during the game. It is NOT just saying: “Look, play this card and that card”, but they explain why, they even preview the play and build a strategy and that is what you are looking for as a scholarship holder: to know what to do and NOT to do when facing different types of compositions. And now that ORIGIN is coming, it will be more than necessary to have this coaching. By the way, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Coach Chois, I don’t know if you know him!

Jorge: Do you like Liberty Gaming’s approach, which consists of “playing to gain freedom in terms of income”?

Josue: Of course I do! And I believe it is true because they have not limited themselves to Axie. They’ve seen that Axie Infinity has gone down in profitability and they haven’t been stuck. Now we are privileged to start from ZERO with a new project that is still in its infancy: PlaceWar. And there are others. The good thing about starting from the Alpha and Beta phases is that when the game is officially released to the public and investors start to get involved, what comes next is profit. I like that approach, and I hope they will always keep it that way, and we can all continue to benefit together!

Jorge: What professional recommendations would you give to those who are taking their first steps in our profession?

Josue: The most important is to be patient and consistent. These days I invited friends to Liberty Gaming and some said “I ran away when I saw about inviting 25 or 50 people”. It is not impossible, how much are we willing to commit to benefit from a scholarship in which we do not invest any money but we can earn $600 or $800 a month? It is true that sometimes it is hard to get others to join, it was hard for me at times. But patience and perseverance, as well as participating in the chats, being a good companion will see you achieve results. The moderators, among them Navi, are always looking for us to reach those achievements.

Jorge: How did getting a scholarship change your life?

Josue: Well, with Axie I have achieved more stress (just kidding!). Obtaining a scholarship has allowed me to earn money in a way that I never imagived and it has benefited me greatly. It’s not crazy money, it’s not a huge deal, but it has saved me and allowed me to help my family in the moments I needed it the most. And who knows, can you imagine if the Gear Coin goes to 0.10$? If that happens, we do a Liberty Meetup in Cancun, Mexico haha!

Jorge: Can you do something that other people can’t do or find difficult?

Josue: I’m not sure, but one thing I do know isI love to learn and I’m a good learner / student. I will not stop studying and learning something until I understand it, which is why I know that I will reach and even beat my goals on Axie.

Jorge: Final question, in your opinion, what are the 2–3 traits of special importance for a Liberty Gaming Scholar?

Josue: Adaptability, patience, and resilience

Adaptability to be able to get the best from the team you have available. Whether you have a good rotation, a bad rotation, or the Axie algorithm is on your back.

Patience to learn how to use it. It doesn’t come overnight unless you are an exceptional player.

Resilience to endure the bad times without getting frustrated, without giving up, being a warrior. Fighting for your liberty!

If you have that, you will be a full-fledged and successful scholar.

Jorge: Great answers there! Thanks for sparing your time to talk to me, Josue!

Josue: It’s been a pleasure and an honour, and thanks for this Liberty Gaming opportunity!

Aren’t you getting bored of these constant stories of people improving their lives through the Liberty Gaming scholarship programme? No, neither are we!! It’s been so fulfilling to hear once again, this time from Josue, that through a little work, patience and willingness to learn, a Liberty Gaming scholarship can have a genuine, positive impact on so many people’s lives.

As we grow, our main focus is not only our community growth but the growth of our members and our scholars, and how we can impact their lives. We are incredibly proud to see our scholars improve their skills, knowledge, and their personal and family lives.

About Liberty Gaming

Liberty Gaming is a GameFi ecosystem at the forefront of web3 gaming, providing opportunities for every audience in blockchain gaming. Neatly placed within a larger, overarching group comprising a multi-chain launchpad and NFT and Token funds, Liberty Gaming is firmly positioned as an integral part of the GameFi space, both present and future.

Composed of a growing guild and community, high-grade investment team, incubation arm and stellar global partner network, Liberty Gaming represents a new wave of GameFi organisation and an entry portal to GameFi for everyone.

Bringing together investment from huge names, including Animoca Brands, Cointelligence Fund, and Pluto Digital, and experience from JP Morgan, Nomura, Sandbox, SkyLaunch and more, Liberty Gaming has built a foundational team, advisory and investment network to help redefine the GameFi space.

Offering earning, educational, investment and brand growth opportunities through our multi-faceted approach, Liberty Gaming is structured to both accelerate and lead the charge for blockchain-gaming mass adoption.

Stay Tuned!

As we head towards some important milestones in the project’s development, keep an eye on all of our channels below to stay up to date on all things Liberty Gaming. Believe me, you don’t want to miss this train!

Website | Discord | Twitter | Medium | Telegram | Facebook | Linkedin

--

--

Oliver M
Liberty Metaverse

Crypto writer, simplifying the blockchain space for the masses one word at a time.