Community Focus: Liberty Scholars

It’s time to hear from another Liberty Gaming scholar, and this week’s interview is pretty special in terms of impact!

Oliver M
Liberty Metaverse
11 min readJan 20, 2023

--

Hey Liberty Gaming community, we’ve got a very special interview for you today. That’s right, it’s time for Community Focus, and this week’s guest is another member of our Cuban contingent, bringing that local grit and determination into Liberty Gaming.

Diosvany, joining Jorge this week to tell his story, is currently active in three of our scholarship games, and through these opportunities is earning more than his previous profession! While it’s sad to hear about the economic difficulties our members face in various parts of the world, it’s great to know that through the opportunities we bring, they are able to fight their way through. Let’s hear what Diosvany had to say.

Jorge: Hello Liberty Gaming family, hope you are all having a beautiful day!

Today we have yet another wonderful scholar, let’s meet Diosvany Iañez Alvarez, our guest of the day.

Welcome and good day Diosvany how are you doing today?

Diosvany: Hello, good day, brother, very well, thanks, I hope everything is going great with you.

Jorge: Thank you, I am doing great indeed, and thank you for your support, you are more than welcome!

Let’s start with some questions for our community to get to know you better.

Tell us, where are you from, and how old are you?

Diosvany: I am from Cuba, I live in the province of Habana, La Lisa municipality, but I am from Pinar Del Río, the westernmost part of Cuba,​​and I am 25 years old.

Jorge: Another brother from the beautiful Island, thanks again for sharing this space with us! How would you describe yourself in a few words?

Diosvany: To describe myself, I have always been inspired by a family member who is my idol, so to speak, a person who is hungry to achieve results, a profile of improvement, and to take advantage of every minute that passes by in our lives.

That “DNA” if it could be called that way, is what I have always wanted to have ingrained. I would describe myself as a person above all helpful, who tries to help whenever possible, friendly, responsible, hardworking as a good Cuban and with many that I am sure will be fulfilled little by little.

Jorge: It shows! That’s one of the amazing things about our community, we can always count on guys like you, willing to help others! What are your hobbies, your favourite activities?

Diosvany: Well here I have to say that this is a question that is quite difficult for me to answer because there are several activities that I love to do. Starting with video games, I love to play, and even though it is true that I have well-defined styles with games like Dark Souls or Grand Theft Auto, which are the classics from when I was younger, today I focus more on battle royale and especially MOBA, simply because of popularity and frequency.

My dream would be to see a Dark Souls NFT game haha, since I was a child I always wanted to be a video game expert but here in my country due to certain circumstances that career is not possible. Another facet that I really like is computing and many topics related to technology, and I must mention what I studied for 6 years of my life, medicine, my profession, that I love because there is no greater satisfaction than the gratitude of a patient. Today I am not practising due to payment circumstances in my country, but it is what I want to dedicate myself to in my life once I emigrate, combined with games of course.

Jorge: Regardless of the circumstances, I must mention, that Cuba is extremely crowded with such smart and talented people, you are the 3rd doctor from Cuba that I have met in Liberty Gaming!

What is your big dream, or goal, short or long-term?

Diosvany: Well, as I mentioned above, my goal in life is to be a recognised doctor, not for fame but for the people who treat themselves with me and who are simply satisfied.

I have always thought that I was born to save lives, but I have to say that I always have my competitive gene well-guarded and it always wants to be measuring myself in an arena or a dungeon against other players or enjoying a good video game, so the professional field of e-sports also makes me excited, because I had a small approach in 3 seasons of axie without being one of the 1st obviously but in two of the seasons I was pretty close to the top 300 which was good.

Jorge: Amazing, I hope that the earnings from P2E and Web3 will be of great support in your life, brother. I was a pretty competitive Axie player myself, good old days hehe.

How did you learn about the opportunity to make money as a Scholar?

Diosvany: Well, the truth is that at that time a couple of years ago, I didn’t have much time because I was finishing my career, and given the situation in the country with the pandemic, I was very busy, because in our case, we did work daily in the field. One day I went to YouTube and a video jumped out at me, it was about how to earn money by playing, and at first I thought it was fake but when I checked the video I noticed that it was real, that there were NFT games, that there were guilds that gave people the opportunity to work as scholars.

It caught my attention from the first moment, and well, after a short time I started in Axie in an Indian guild and that was the beginning of everything, for which I am thankful today to God because it has been my main source of income all this time, that’s one blessed video, haha!

Jorge: I am happy that you were able to find out about this world full of opportunities, there are still plenty of WEB2 users unaware of WEB3 and its potential, however, we will change that together!

Why did you decide to become a Scholar and what makes it important for you?

Diosvany: Well to be honest, starting from the fact that I live in a country that is extremely blocked, both externally and internally, being a Scholar is a great way of generating revenue for a living. More than a monthly salary working with the government and also spending less time, and enjoying the games, so receiving a scholarship became a way for me to achieve my financial freedom, because, for some, 60 dollars may be irrelevant, but, for us, that amount is twice the salary of a doctor here!

Jorge: That’s a shocking reality, we will continue building, and bringing more and better opportunities to all of you!

Tell us, how is your work environment within Liberty Gaming?

Diosvany: I have to say that thanks to Liberty Gaming I have had an incredible 2022, because, beyond the fact that what unites us initially are the NFT games, in the end, it becomes secondary because I have found a select group of colleagues who have become like a family!

My virtual brothers so to speak, regarding this topic I only have my congratulations for Liberty Gaming as a guild and as the creator of a great and united community, the managers are the best and most serious that I have seen and I have been in many guilds.

Jorge: This type of feedback is what keeps us motivated, watching you guys become family, and supporting each other, while we are all fighting together for that desired financial freedom!

Tell us, what are your results with your current accounts?

Diosvany: Currently in Liberty Gaming I am in several projects, which I will list, as far as possible, as well as my respective opinion. The first of them is Yumon, in which I have been working for about 3 weeks and I have managed to position my free account in the top2, as well as the Liberty Gaming scholarship account in the top 10, and in one of them, I was top1 and top2 of the week. It is a project that I really like even though I consider that they have many things to improve and implement for the future.

The second one that I want to refer to is Dragon War, this month I want to be in the top 5 of players who farm the most tokens. Currently, I remain in the arena between the top 100 and 200 and as I improve the buildings I hope to get above the top 100.

The third will be Iguverse, which seems to me to be the best on the market right now, that’s why I always say that Liberty Gaming has a style when choosing projects that no other guild has and that is its greatest strength. For that we have to thank you, Chois, I don’t know what you do or how you do it, but you manage to keep bringing amazing projects! Brother, you are a crack, you have a very good eye! Going back to Iguverse it has a mixture of mechanics, some so basic and known by many, but, it also combines Social-Fi to win, which is one more point in favour, because they are giving themselves their own publicity without having to invest in practically anyone. It’s a very smart idea, in addition to all the burning mechanisms they have, all this would be more than enough to say that for me Iguverse is the best Liberty Gaming project, however, there is a company, that is responsible for the metaverse of Sidus heroes, which is today the project that excites me the most for the future. Fun, entertaining, and above all, for me to enjoy and have a laugh with friends and as if that is not enough, they brought out Xenna, which already seems to be an extra in this study. A real plus point, in the following months I hope to see an enormous evolution in the development of the project, with new mechanics, races, and the opening of the bank, which I think will attract many new players.

I wanted to dedicate a special mention to Infinity Arena, that, even though I have not been able to play it due to some reasons, I love that Liberty Gaming paid attention to these games, especially in my case, I am a fan of trading card games like Hearsthone, Magic or Gods Unchained for example.

Jorge: That’s quite an answer right there, haha, I will continue bringing you guys more projects, stay tuned for more exciting and fun titles joining Liberty! Thank you for your kind words!

What was the most difficult situation you faced?

Diosvany: Well, my country has gone through so many difficult things in the last year, and even though where I live we’ve had “less affectation” it has been hard. In this aspect Liberty Gaming has managed to be a great opportunity (I assure you, you have no idea) for many on my island. Aside from the many daily electricity problems, or internet, that are numerous, especially the latter, which is the big problem for those of us who want to play Sidus heroes in a proper way. The internet here only offers speeds of less than 2 megabytes per second, and it is extremely expensive compared to the basic salary, but well, as Cubans, in the end, we create solutions always!

There were times of great stress due to wanting and not being able to do things, and to this day, even though they have already improved, the internet is still a challenge. Hopefully, and if God allows it, this year, it is said that optical fibre will be available at a speed of 10 to 20 megabytes per second, yes, God, I want it to come quickly haha!

Jorge: I hope it will all improve as soon as possible, brother.

What professional recommendations would you give to new scholars?

Diosvany: Well, in my case, first of all, I would welcome them and congratulate them, since they have reached a magnificent guild where the profile of web3 games that we play are excellent, as well as the early stages where they are discovered.

Tell them that they are going to have to work responsibly, but that they are going to have fun, laugh, and feel like a family in this community, no matter what language you speak, we are all very close. Another somewhat obvious aspect of life, they are going to have to prepare themselves and learn about the projects, because, without studying them, you will not be able to reach knowledge, and knowledge is a weapon of great power. We must overcome obstacles ourselves and always try to be the best example to follow for the new ones who arrive because in our hands we hold valuable resources to exploit.

There are no limitations and the one with the best NFT won’t always win, in this life nothing is absolute, everything is based on what you propose and put efforts into, nothing is impossible for dreamers.

Jorge: Love how you mention something really important, our current scholars hold so much knowledge, strategies, and tips that will definitely help the new guys increase their earning potential, and I can’t agree more, knowledge is power!

Last question, how having an account as a Scholar in Liberty Gaming changed your life?

Diosvany: Well, getting a scholarship at Liberty Gaming was the starting point for many things in my life. More like a phase of learning and discovery, because the guild gave me the opportunity to learn a little more about this world, earn a new family, a work routine and of course, earn an extra income.

We all know with the current situation in the world, even worse in my case for being in the poorest economy, it helps a lot, and the truth is that I only have words of gratitude to Liberty Gaming and each and every one of the people who work today to make this possible. You have no idea how many times you have served a plate of food in my house, just to talk about one example.

Jorge: Thank you, Diosvany for sharing so much with us today, I must mention that Diosvany, after the requests of several members of our community, decided to start his own YouTube channel, where he talks about Web3 projects, and in some of his videos, explains them on a very detailed way, dropping his channel here, especially for our Spanish Speakers, in case you want to support his efforts: https://www.youtube.com/@atiendepaaca

Thank you all for joining us, wishing you always all the best, take care!

Well, what an amazing interview this week! I’m not sire I’ve ever seen so much gratitude expressed in such a short space of time. Once again, we can witness that Cuban fighting spirit, with Diosvany not letting anything get in his way when it comes to the play-to-earn opportunities here at Liberty Gaming!

As we grow, our main focus is not only our community growth but the growth of our members and our scholars, and how we can impact their lives. We are incredibly proud to see our scholars improve their skills, knowledge, and their personal and family lives.

About Liberty Gaming

Liberty Gaming is a GameFi ecosystem at the forefront of web3 gaming, providing opportunities for every audience in blockchain gaming. Neatly placed within a larger, overarching group comprising a multi-chain launchpad and NFT and Token funds, Liberty Gaming is firmly positioned as an integral part of the GameFi space, both present and future.

Composed of a growing guild and community, high-grade investment team, incubation arm and stellar global partner network, Liberty Gaming represents a new wave of GameFi organisation and an entry portal to GameFi for everyone.

Bringing together investment from huge names, including Animoca Brands, Cointelligence Fund, and Pluto Digital, and experience from JP Morgan, Nomura, Sandbox, SkyLaunch and more, Liberty Gaming has built a foundational team, advisory and investment network to help redefine the GameFi space.

Offering earning, educational, investment and brand growth opportunities through our multi-faceted approach, Liberty Gaming is structured to both accelerate and lead the charge for blockchain-gaming mass adoption.

Stay Tuned!

As we head towards some important milestones in the project’s development, keep an eye on all of our channels below to stay up to date on all things Liberty Gaming. Believe me, you don’t want to miss this train!

Website | Discord | Twitter | Medium | Telegram | Facebook | Linkedin

--

--

Oliver M
Liberty Metaverse

Crypto writer, simplifying the blockchain space for the masses one word at a time.