20 Perspectives on 2020

Our digital team is excited for the new year. Here’s what’s on our radar.

Lou Cimaglia
Digital @ Liberty Mutual
4 min readJan 10, 2020

--

Image credit: Kasia Ciesla

It’s the dawn of a new decade, and we’ve got plenty to be excited about. Check out 20 of our thoughts, resolutions, hopes, and wishes for the coming year.

Katie Rowbottom

Scrum Master

I’m looking forward to seeing what new coworkers, new squads, and new projects will teach us in 2020. I am especially excited to see how the team will learn and adapt from our collective successes and failures.

Jason Bushey

UX Lead

Creating new and improved experiences that help connect us with our customers where they prefer to meet us most, including chat and SMS.

Cait O’Connor

Digital Product Owner

Ongoing commitment to creating best-in-class digital experiences for our customers! We will be making major changes to our logged-in navigation experience and using new technology to build it. And I can’t wait to expand some of our coverage tools, because insurance can be confusing and helping our customers feel confident and protected is one of the most important things we can do for them.

Katie Markarian

UX Content Strategist

Over the past year, we’ve worked extremely hard to get our technical house in order. 2020 feels like a moment where we’re now poised to take on some big ideas and pursue challenges we couldn’t previously. I’m excited to see where the year takes us!

Andric LibreSinn

Senior Software Developer

I’m excited to be working on new technologies that will allow our customers to more easily access their online accounts.

Linus Flack-Ytter

Senior Software Developer

In 2019, we learned a lot about coding best practices for accessibility, and I’m excited to apply that knowledge to our new projects in 2020.

Casey Makovich

UX Content Strategist

I’m excited that as a digital organization we’re encouraging risk tasking by embracing failure in 2020. It’s a mental shift that I expect will spark unprecedented innovation from our team.

Joseph Hsu

Software Developer

For 2020, I am excited to dive into serverless technologies for customer-facing production applications. I’m proud that Liberty is embracing modern tech stacks as it happens. It’s inspiring to be a part of a tech culture that’s pushing the company forward.

Grace Phang

User Researcher

I’m excited for the continued focus on accessibility in 2020, as well as the creation of a new Employee Resource Group with a focus on Disability Awareness.

Research ethics is a topic I’m interested in for 2020. What opportunities exist to improve our processes and find and track the right information while maintaining customer security and trust?

David Lind

Senior Product Owner

We have great things planned to make sure our newest customers have a great onboarding experience that inspires them to always engage with us digitally.

Gregg Dunn

Principal Software Developer

Decreasing my bundle size. (Trying to lose weight.)

Tom Koski

Scrum Master

I’m really looking forward to this year, because there’s never a dull moment with our Digital team. 2020 will be jam-packed with opportunities to solve interesting and intellectually challenging problems, learn new skills, and be a champion for our customers with our team of amazing people. Liberty Mutual is empowering its talent to completely reshape some of the competitive and game-changing areas of the insurance industry.

Wesley Ho

Software Engineer

I’m most looking forward to the development of our analytics initiatives, and also how we leverage artificial intelligence to create a sustained competitive advantage.

Ji Chong

Senior Project Manager

One thing I’ll be excited to hear more about in 2020 is what we are doing as a company from a sustainability perspective. I think the creation of a new sustainability office demonstrates a commitment to our environmental, social and governance efforts and I’m looking forward to hearing more about our progress this year.

Maria Rubio

Product Design Lead

Professionally, learning about the use of data and machine learning in our space. On the personal side, expanding my connections with the UX community (both at Liberty and locally) and growing my artistic skills (drawing, painting with watercolors).

Gary Parker

Solutions Engineer

I’m looking forward to killing legacy systems by creating serverless solutions that solve real customer problems.

Nick Rutherford

Scrum Master

In 2020, I am looking forward to the much talked about artificial intelligence revolution. Can we handle mundane tasks for our users?

Jen Tsui

Software Developer

I’m excited about the professional development opportunities provided by Liberty Mutual to further enhance our abilities to solve customer problems.

Rajesh Sukhu

Senior Software Engineer

I’m just excited to be working in a company that advocates for solutions that put our customer needs first. In 2020, we will be driving towards innovative new projects that I know I’ll be proud to be a part of.

Kasia Ciesla

Product Designer

In 2020 I look forward to more collaborations that foster user-centric innovations. By combining research and user testing, design thinking and ideation methodologies, and rigorous design and tech reviews, we can deliver our on our promise to make hard things easy for our customers. I learn daily at Liberty, and am truly excited to see how my colleagues and I can grow together.

Interested in joining our digital team in 2020? Check out our current job postings.

--

--