A design nightmare

Antonia
Life After Sleep
Published in
2 min readJan 29, 2020

It was our demo day. The sponsor had brought in some major VC firms that each startup could pitch to depending on their industry. We had ours early in the day and I couldn’t remember if we did well or not, I just had to use the toilet. I told my technical cofounder and life partner I was going to find the loo, exchanged a joke, chuckled and took my bag with me.

Looking around, it was hard to see the signs. I stopped a guy who looked like he was a staff. “Oh it’s right over there”, he said pointing to a black door on the right, “all gender-neutral”

Thanking him I scuttled to the door, pushed it open and was greeted by a long corridor with walnut coloured wooden doors on each side. Nice! I thought, found an unoccupied one and opened it with delight. My stomach fell and boy was I pressed. Oh my days, where do I sit? where do I put my bag? urgh. This was the smallest toilet I had ever seen in my life, aeroplane toilets looked like a luxury beside this, who designed this thing!

I reluctantly placed my bag on the floor but the door wouldn’t close, blimey! I’d leave it outside but my laptop is in it, blady hell. I would have to hold it then. So I did and managed to empty my bladder. I reached for toilet roll and it was wet, apparently, the only place to put the roll was on the sink.

***aaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH***

Escape activated, I woke up grateful this was not real.

“”

--

--

Antonia
Life After Sleep

*Eternally Loved* Daughter of the King. Edo princess. UX evangelist, Designer