Game Suya and Boko Haram

Antonia
Life After Sleep
Published in
1 min readNov 17, 2016

The people of Lagos state feel immune to Boko Haram. You don’t hear a whiff of it when down in those parts, so why were they running?

Strolling leisurely around my house on the Island, VI, I saw a man selling suya across the street. I knew that this was unusual, so I went over to take advantage.

This one na antelope he said, I bet he mentioned other Game meats but I cannot remember. So I bought a big portion then continued my stroll.

A few minutes after, I heard the shouts, the footsteps. More minutes gone, I saw the smoke and the people.

“Boko Haram!!!”

What? I said to myself, I thought Boko Haram is not in Lagos. I quickened my steps so I could get home. While contemplating the reality of the situation and what to do next…the reality? ha!

--

--

Antonia
Life After Sleep

*Eternally Loved* Daughter of the King. Edo princess. UX evangelist, Designer