The Number One Dive Centre in Nigeria

Antonia
Life After Sleep
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2016

It wasn’t very big, but it was deeeep, around 50metres. Lagosians especially like their water, but for the most part they don’t do much with it. When we were going to build the centre, many said we would be wasting water, but, the water was already there.

The centre was located on ‘The Island’ Once we opened it was a hit, everyone wanted to hang out there. There was free-diving, swimming, surf simulation etc We offered training in all of these too.

My favourite thing was teaching people to free-dive. We had specially made diving gear that had sensors which could tell when a person was in trouble or if they had gone too deep.

I was running the centre with my partner and it felt like the best thing in the world. Away from our day job, we would go to Takwa Bay to surf and unwind.

When I woke up, I could only smile to myself, it’s one of the dreams that I really really want to happen. I love water and water sports so hopefully one day, if not me then more power to whoever opens such a place.

☺️

--

--

Antonia
Life After Sleep

*Eternally Loved* Daughter of the King. Edo princess. UX evangelist, Designer