Image by Author

The Rewards Just Keep On Coming!

Who says participation awards aren’t motivating?

Jeri Karges
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Exercise becomes so much more important as we age! Increase in cardiorespiratory fitness (the kind you get with brisk walking) is associated with a 50% reduction in mortality in older adults. I know you’ve heard this before, and sure, you want to reduce your risk of dying by 50%. Who doesn’t? But if you’re anything like me, getting your butt up off the couch to do goblet squats and crunches is akin to asking me to run for President of the United States. It just isn’t going to happen. And running or tennis? Those just bring back excruciating memories of being the last one chosen for the team in high school… So how do you and I get the benefit of this fitness stuff and reduce our mortality risk by 50%??

As I said, I was never the one to win athletic awards in school. If I completed the athletic task, that was all the reward I was going to get. Someone else always did it better, faster or less awkwardly than I did. But see that picture, above? That’s the shelf in my office! I’ve gotten all of those awards in the last 2 years. I’m going to let you in on my secret. Ready? Here it is…

I go out on a gorgeous Spring or Fall morning, line up with a bunch of beautiful bodies with enthusiasm that is contagious, take a glorious 3 mile walk with my guy or my friends and get CHEERED as I cross the finish line, no matter how long it takes me! Then, I am awarded with a medal and, in most cases, a free beer or glass of wine! Talk about win/win (win, win, win)!

Sign up for every 5K you can find! All of them have timing that allows for walkers. They are a blast and rewarding in more ways than one! I like to walk ’em at a pretty brisk walking pace, but you can find your own pace. And, if you walk enough of them, one day you might find yourself at a trot, or even a run. They are a great way to get out, get some crisp morning air, get your butt moving and end up with a medal for your efforts! Maybe work up to it if you haven’t been out walking for awhile, (and always check with your doctor before you begin any exercise regimen). Get together with friends and start a walking club and walk 3 miles a few times per week for practice before you get out there for your race. The practice can be rewarding, too and connecting with friends is a great benefit!

I did this for a year and then tried a walking half marathon! I came in second in my division and you can, too! Just completing the 13 miles was reward in itself, but the crisp April morning, the other athletes cheering me on and the medal and beer on the other side of the finish line were an experience to remember — not to mention the fact that I’m now 50% less likely to die. That’s just icing on the cake!

You Got This! Grab a friend. Take a walk around the neighborhood. Then get out there and get that medal!

See you on the course!

--

--

Jeri Karges

Living in retirement and loving the third act! Sign up for my FREE newsletter at https://rockinretirement.substack.com