Adventure 1

The Fortune Teller

Thomas Edward
Life and Adventure

--

“I can tell you your future,” was the claim.

What an interesting prospect; knowing one’s future. It would certainly seem to make life more simplistic if all you had to do was look through a crystal ball and have everything revealed. This was the claim of this 21st century Nostradamos. The question was, did I believe her?

People have always tried to find a way to glean the future, and why not? Consider the advantage an individual would have if they were able to do this. Mistakes that could be avoided, fortunes that could be made, lives that might be saved, and heartbreaks that could be averted. Ancient civilizations looked to the stars, animal entrails, prayed to gods, and a slew of other rituals in hopes of knowing the future. But did I believe that?

Religious texts of every major faith talks about prophets who were given a taste of the future, often glimpses or images that had to be interpreted. Depending on your own personal faith you believe this or you don’t. There may have been a time when people were given the future, but today all I see are curbside prophets and bad actors on television. So I was unsure if this woman and her claim could be trusted. But I did promise myself new adventure this year so I gave her a shot.

“You will have breakthroughs this year….you’ve been through tough times….you can succeed this year if you seize the moment….I see great changes in the next few weeks…”

Generalization is not the same as knowing the future. I am certain I will have setback and breakthroughs this year and throughout my life as long as I am alive.

“You don’t have to believe me,” she explained.

The Madame Teller then went on to explain to me the science behind the future. Stars dictate many aspect of our lives whether we know it or not (her words). If the moon affects the gravitaional pull of the waters imagine what other celestial bodies with much greater influence do to us. When you are born stars, planets, and galaxies are in a particular orbit. Their gravity pulls at everyone alive and can shape their moods, their thinking, and their choices, so if you know where stars will be in the future you can reasonable assume what is in store for you.

I appreciated the logical explanation, it at least made more sense then turning over a card or reading my palm. To know exactly what the future would bring would nullify all concept of choice and free-will. If you could tell me with 100% what would happen tomorrow, then that means my life amounts to nothing more then being a marrionette being pulled by a cosmic force and I have no say-so in the matter.

So what about destiny and fate? Is there such a thing? Is there really one thing we are meant to do and all roads lead to it no matter what we do? I don’t beleive that. If I do have one destiny, it’s simply to make it to the end, whatever that may be. Maybe the only two destined days in your life is the day you are born and the day you die. Everything in between is up to you. To quote a very good movie, “There is no fate but what we make for oursleves.” The future is not in the stars, or the tea leaves, or the runes, or bones, and certainly not in the cards. My future is with every step I make, every decision I come to, and every deed I committ to, good or bad. The future is created with every second and every breath.

I don’t know the future anymore than the Fortune Teller did, but I do know how it ends. It ends with me knowing I check out of this life having done my best, having been there for other, taken care of the ones I loved, forgiving those who’ve wronged me, and leaving behind a life worth emulating.

  • Thomas M.

--

--

Thomas Edward
Life and Adventure

Adventurer, globe trotter, photographer, writer, runner, arms dealer, all around cool guy