2022 Will Not Be a Happy Year for Me

Hope Carter
Life and the Performing Arts
4 min readDec 21, 2021

--

In response to the Coffee Challenge: why I want to be a better me in 2022

Photo by Anthony from Pexels

When I first read Winston’s rules to this challenge, I had one instant thought: it’s been six months since my dad died, so do people really want to hear about my struggle with closing the door on 2021?

Then, I remembered this challenge is about being authentic and open about our struggles as we close the door on the past 365 days. I’m not talking down the posts about wanting to lose weight (because I have those goals, too) or how I plan to get smart about my career (because I already wrote about that). I’m talking about the real driving force behind everyone’s New Year’s Resolutions posts.

This is my driving force going into 2022.

I created a list of firsts the evening after my dad died. I don’t know why I started it. I think it was my way of making sense of my grief and how it affected every part of my life. I was trying even harder to understand what happened in my other notes.

It’s funny how the wires in your brain cross when you go through a traumatic loss. For those nine days in the ICU, I tried so desperately to figure out what was…

--

--