Interview with Katie Leigh

Trenton Larkin
Life and the Performing Arts
24 min readAug 11, 2021

--

The voices of Dumbo, Honker Muddlefoot, Connie Kendall, Sunni Gummi, and more…

Katie Leigh, Voice Actress

Episode 2 — Katie Leigh

Trenton Larkin: Voiceover is everywhere and you hear it every day from radio… “number one for new country 96.3 Hawkeye in the morning”…to TV… “My name is, Lady Whistledown, You do not know me, but I know you”…to movies… “My name is Optimus Prime, Autobots, roll out”…to animation… “I am vengeance, I am the knight, I am Batman”,…and so much more… “Ba da ba ba ba I’m lovin’ it”…Welcome to Episode Two.

Announcer: Welcome to Who Did That Voice the show where we take an in-depth look at the world of voiceover including movies, TV, animation, and more. And now here’s your host, Trenton Larkin.

Trenton Larkin: Today on the show we have the talented and lovely Katie Leigh. Katie has been in the business of voiceovers for over 35 plus years. She’s done amazing voices from shows like Adventures In Odyssey as Connie Kendall.

Connie Kendall: Hey, what’s going on? Having trouble with your shoe laces again, Eugene.

Trenton Larkin: She also starred on Walt Disney’s Darkwing Duck as Honker Muddlefoot.

Honker Muddlefoot: It’s your dad’s cheap cologne.

Trenton Larkin: Katie also played the lovable Sunni Gummi from Walt Disney’s Adventures of the Gummi Bears.

Sunni Gummi: Thank you Gruffy.

Trenton Larkin: Here’s a fun fact. Katie played the piano loving dog Rowlf from the Muppet Babies.

Rowlf the Dog: Bad guys better fear Spider-Dog is here.

Trenton Larkin: Katie is also the one and only voice of Dumbo from Walt Disney’s Dumbo Circus.

Dumbo: Lionel. Where’s my magic feather?

Trenton Larkin: Today, we have the illustrious Katie Leigh joining us today. Thank you so much for joining us, Katie.

Katie Leigh: I’m illustrious.

Trenton Larkin: Yes, ma’am.

Katie Leigh: It’s my pleasure.

Trenton Larkin: Katie, would you do us the honor of just giving us a brief story of who you are.

Katie Leigh: A little brief story about me? Well, in a nutshell, everybody tells me I’m weird. But I’m nice. I grew up in Southern California, I went to college in Northern California. And when I decided to try doing voiceover, I had to move back to Southern California that was in the 80s. And that’s when I was it was a perfect time for me to be here. There was a lot of animation going on there were probably about 200 people in the voiceover community, I was able to fit right in at that time and learn on the job. And I have a very, very fortunate career that in that respect, I got to learn from all the old timers. And I’ve watched the I feel like I’m the bridge. I’m the bridge generation between the original voiceover animation actors and all the new people coming up. So that’s a brief description of my voiceover career. I guess. I’m a mom, and I have a 16 year old dog. And what else do you want to know?

Trenton Larkin: Well, Katie, from what I understand, growing up in California, you had a lot of friends who wanted to be actors, and you’d kind of thought of going a different route, potentially, as a producer, I believe.

Katie Leigh: Oh, yeah. Well, because I grew up, you know, in Southern California, where every you know, Hollywood is, that’s what people think of and, and I knew that. I mean, I grew up like imitating people and talking to myself, but I’m pretty shy. And in a way, I mean, depends. I’ve gotten a little over that, since I’ve gotten older.

Trenton Larkin: You definitely don’t seem shy.

Katie Leigh: Well, I wasn’t a theatre person.

Trenton Larkin: Okay.

Katie Leigh: I wasn’t a musical person. Yeah, the theater people seemed just way too dramatic for me. And I wasn’t into all that drama. But I knew I like the industry. But I was hesitant to want to pursue anything in the industry as a crew, because I knew how difficult it wasn’t how cliche, it was basically, I think I was just a little, you know, thinking that well, you know, that’s everybody’s dream, right. So because I was a really fast typist, and I liked machines. I thought, Oh, I think I will strive to be an executive secretary, because at that time, believe it or not in the 70s. I was like, Oh, that’s a job that pays a lot of money. Because there were no computers or anything back then you needed it.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah, absolutely.

Katie Leigh: So I thought, okay, I’d like to be a secretary or a teacher. And then, as I pursued, you know, my higher education and knowing that I still really like the entertainment industry, I thought, well, maybe a producer would be something I would be good at. And I ended up getting a degree in Broadcast Communication Arts from San Francisco State thought maybe I’d be an audio engineer, but I don’t think it was quite that good. And the thought of being in a darkroom for 8 to 12 hours a day was sort of didn’t sound like fun.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah, absolutely.

Katie Leigh: Especially when had other people telling me what to do and running a board. So, while I was living up there, someone suggested I do voiceover I didn’t know I had an unusual voice to tell you the truth. But and right before I got in the broadcast department, I started pursuing voiceover as a means of maybe making some extra income I really didn’t think of it is anything, you know, as a career at that time. And uhhh, a woman named Lucille Bliss, who some might know as Smurfette, and some older people may even know as Crusader Rabbit’s voice lived in San Francisco, and she had a voiceover workshop. And I signed up for her, I went to go to her workshop, I got to the very last class, for some reason she invited me I think it may have been auditing. I don’t even know if I paid her tell you the truth. Auditing the last class sat in on that. And we went and made a demo. I mean, this, I don’t recommend this to anybody. Okay. There’s I mean, but there’s a big industry out there, and you got to be aware, you know, it’s very expensive, you can get sucked into the voice over vacuum of unending payments. So you want to, you know, be really sure that it’s, you know, it’s in your budget, and you got to figure out what your goals are. So I highly recommend taking acting lessons. And I will say, while I was finding myself, I started taking improv classes, I think, was before I even did the voiceover maybe simultaneously. But I started doing improv workshops, which I’ve really loved and enjoyed. And I ended up working my way through my teachers, all the levels until the next I said, What’s the next class and she says, oh, we’re on stage. So I told you, I wasn’t a theatre person, right? And you’re like, oh, we’re doing a show. Because I just love the exercises. I love the games. I love that. I liked improv. And so the last class was we were doing a show. And so I found myself on stage doing improv for a few years. And that was fun. So that was my training, if you want to call it training for voiceover. But so seriously, we went we made, Lucille, helped me make a demo, she gave me copy, it was enough to get me a couple agents in San Francisco, I was able to land one gig that got me into the Screen Actors Guild. And so when I graduated college, and everybody said, you know, you have a great voice, you’re not really going to find work here in San Francisco. It’s different these days. Because there’s a lot of video games up there and stuff, I think. And of course, it doesn’t matter where you live, like today, doesn’t matter too much. You can find voiceover work, or you know, working from home and work for people all over the world. But at that time, they said, if you want to do animation, you need to go to LA. And I was like, oh, man, I just left there. But I thought, you know, it’s worth a shot. So I decided to I had my card, my SAG card. So I called an agency and as luck would have it, or providence would have it. My agent was filling in. (Phone Rings) Oops, sorry that’s my phone.

Trenton Larkin: That’s Okay.

Katie Leigh: My agent was filling in for the receptionist and answered the phone, and she heard me and she said, You sound like you’re 12. And I said, Okay, thanks. I’d like to meet you. So I went down to LA and back home and had a meeting with the agency and they wanted to sign me. And so I figured, well, I’ll give it two years and see if I can make a living at this. And I came back to LA and worked as a I found a little company where I worked as an editor receptionist voice. It was a small company. We did everything. I answered the phones. I was a secretary, I got to do that. If they needed a voice like mine, they call me into the studio, I helped edit scripts and I edited tape with a razor blade, which I actually enjoyed doing very much.

Trenton Larkin: Wow.

Katie Leigh: And I my gig, I got a voiceover. I started auditioning. And then I booked a part in a Mork & Mindy cartoon and…

Mork & Mindy Cartoon

Trenton Larkin:…Mork and Mindy had a Cartoon?

Katie Leigh: They had a Cartoon. And I thought, wow, I was so excited. I thought I was gonna work with Robin Williams, but I didn’t. He wasn’t there. I went in it was at Hanna-Barbera. So it was this one part and I thought it was going to be a recurring role. And I told my boss and she said, We you just can’t take off and you know, go do this. So you can’t work here anymore. So I got fired. And that part was not a recurring role. It was just a one time thing. And there I was, but somehow, I don’t know what happened. I guess I made a list just started booking more things. And it happened. And as I was telling you before you started the interview, you know now I get fired every day, basically. I mean, that’s what it boils down to you do a job. It’s over. That’s it. You’re looking for the next one.

Trenton Larkin: Looking for the next, next employer, yeah. With the Mork and Mindy cartoon did Robin Williams actually voice his character in that?

Katie Leigh: Yeah he did and Pam Dawber but they weren’t there when I went in to do my my line. So I was really disappointed. Jonathan Winters worked on it, too.

Trenton Larkin: Oh, wow. That’s awesome. Did you ever at any point get a chance to work with Robin Williams?

Katie Leigh: Unfortunately, no, I did not. But when I was living in San Francisco, he was living in San Francisco too and doing improv at the same time. And I didn’t meet him, but I, I, I’m sure I saw him, I think at the Holy City Zoo or somewhere. I mean, it seems like our paths crossed, but…

Trenton Larkin:…Just never professionally…

Katie Leigh:…He wasn’t as famous at that time. But everybody knew him. Nobody wanted to really be on stage with him because he was very hard to do improv with because he just sort of took over.

Trenton Larkin: I couldn’t imagine that. (Laughs)

Katie Leigh: Yeah right. It’s it’s a challenge. That was his reputation at the time. So no, I didn’t get to meet him. I wish I wish I could have that would have been awesome.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah, absolutely. Well, Katie, how did you end up becoming involved with Disney’s animation? Was it through your first initial interaction as far as I understand it to be with Dumbo Circus? Was that your first Disney interaction?

Dumbo’s Circus (Picture by Disney)

Katie Leigh: I think so. Because, um, Dumbo Circus? Yeah, was for the Disney Channel. It wasn’t animated.

Trenton Larkin: And it was new because the Disney Channel had just kind of been established at that point?

Katie Leigh: Disney channel has been on maybe a year or two because they did Pooh Corner first.

Trenton Larkin: Okay.

Katie Leigh: And then which, Will Ryan, my buddy he was in Pooh Corner. He used to do songs for Disney when he moved to California. So he did. He was in Pooh Corner and then Dumbo Circus. I got cast as Dumbo and that was animatronics. So what happened when Eisner decided that Disney was going to do animation Saturday morning animation he called a meeting and he turned the record department into the animation department and a guy named Jim Megon was put in charge to create a show that Eisner called the Gummi Bears because his kids had come home from camp and he had they had these candies, gummy bears, and he thought it would be a neat idea for a cartoon. That’s the story I heard. So, Megon, watched cartoons. I was in a couple other shows before Disney started and he would look to see what voice actors were on those shows and invited those people into audition. And I guess I got caught in the net thank God, and so I auditioned for the Gummi Bears and got that role and thats how Gummi Bears was the first animated series that was aired it was aired I think one or two seconds before the, Wuzzles, actually produced two shows that year and ours was the first one to air in a horse race we would have won so yeah.

Adventures Of The Gummi Bears (Picture by Disney)

Trenton Larkin: Thats awesome.

Katie Leigh: And we ran a lot longer. We had many more seasons than the Wuzzles.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah, the Wuzzles was cute. But yeah, it definitely did not run as long.

Katie Leigh: Well, our show had my my the voices of my childhood. You know, Bill Scott and June Foray and Paul Winchell and all the people I grew up listening to and watching on television. So you know, they had the best of the best on that show. So it was pretty amazing. Lorenzo Music worked on that show. Will Ryan was on there too. But it was a we had an amazing cast. So I think if you consider the talent and the maybe even the voice recognition and the artwork, I mean, the artwork was I think, excelled the Wuzzles. It was a classic style. So I mean, it had the Gummi Bears had a lot going for it.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah. Well, as far as Dumbo goes, You were the only voice of Dumbo I believe there was a continuity director Les Perkins, who ended up getting hired on before Dumbo got approved and then at that point, they decided to not have Dumbo speak but y’all had already been approved before he had made that decision. Is that correct?

Katie Leigh: Um, no. I think they hired him after gummi bears when they started doing animation. So, Yeah, but he Yeah, I met him. And he said that one slipped by if I had been working at that time, there would have been no, Dumbo, talking.

Trenton Larkin: Well, thank goodness, that didn’t happen because Dumbo talking was very, I loved it. You know, as a kid watching Dumbo circus. I remember seeing it on the Disney Channel. And it was just so amazing to see those characters like so lifelike, even though they were animatronics, you know, so…

Katie Leigh: Yeah, I actually went in to read for the cat.

Trenton Larkin: Okay.

Katie Leigh: That’s what I auditioned for. And then the producer said, Hey, would you mind reading for Dumbo? I’m like, sure. And that was I it was pretty wonderful.

Trenton Larkin: Absolutely. Well, Katie, would you just tell us a little bit about how you became involved with the Darkwing Duck show?

Darkwing Duck (Photo by Disney)

Katie Leigh: Darkwing well, by then I was working on a lot of shows. I had a pretty steady career. Darkwing you don’t happen to know what came first? Darkwing or My Little Pony do you.

Trenton Larkin: Yes, actually. My Little Pony came first.

Katie Leigh: Jenny McSwain was the director on My Little Pony and Jenny McSwain also directed Darkwing Duck, and she and I don’t know if ponies was the first thing she directed. But so we got to know each other really well. And I just remember her asking me, like calling me into audition for Darkwing Duck, and there’s this character Honker, I mean, she had me in mind, and she said, do that that little nasally boy voice you do? I said, Okay. And, and, again, very fortunately, I got the gig. That’s when I did Honker Muddlefoot who was Gosalyns best friend.

Honker Muddlefoot

Trenton Larkin: And it’s so amazing to hear you actually do the voice of Honker Muddlefoot. Because you do sound so much like your other character on Adventures In Odyssey, Connie Kendall. And growing up with her, I never realized that you were so many voices from my childhood that I loved and cherished as a kid growing up.

Adventures In Odyssey (Photo by Focus On The Family)

Katie Leigh: Yeah, it’s pretty crazy. You don’t realize it till time goes by and you look back and and just see this, like, you know, it’s a cartoon image of taking a sheet of paper and, you know, reading a, you know, the king’s court and the guys gonna read in the paper rolls across the floor. And you go, Wow, we did all that.

Trenton Larkin: Absolutely. And, you know, speaking of Adventures In Odyssey, how did you end up becoming a part of that show

Katie Leigh: By force…(laughs)

Trenton Larkin: By force (laughs)

Katie Leigh: I was, I got saved, I didn’t, you know, was really committed to giving my life to the Lord. And I was working on some shows at a time when a gentleman probably from Texas to wrote a book that caused quite a stir in the church and claiming that most cartoons were demonic, and nobody should be watching them. And, and at the same time, I was working on a show called Dungeons and Dragons, which, you know, was like his big one of his big targets, besides the Smurfs that are all demonic and polluting everybody’s family with and I felt so terrible, like, Oh, you know, why involved in something that’s, you know, should I quit? Is this cartoon world a bad place to be in, you know, I sure like my paycheck, but I don’t, you know, I want to do what’s right, and just, you know, prayed about it. And one day, I noticed that I wanted to be part of something that would share, you know, good values, and, you know, bless people. And I heard, I was listening to focus on the family broadcast and heard above a broadcast of radio drama, and Hal Smith was in it, who also worked on Pooh Corner and Dumbo Circus, and I we worked on The Little Prince together, I just knew him. And some other voices that I knew were professional actors. And I thought, wow, focus is using real actors. And that day, I heard it, I happened to be in the same city as Focus On The Family, which is not near where I live. And I went to a phone booth, which existed back then with telephone books, and I looked up their address, and I drove over there, and I gave them my demo reel. And I said, I would really like to work with you guys. If you’re using voice actors here. And I started doing a few little things with them. And I am, I worked on one of their Family Portraits and and then they were like, getting their idea together of Adventures In Odyssey. And I was told they were writing apart for me, they were doing this new show, and I would be a part of it. And sure enough, they did. And now we’re going on 30 years, and I think it’s the biggest blessing in my life. And I know that it’s touched people all over the world and and I really feel like God answered my prayer.

Trenton Larkin: Absolutely. Katie, that’s, that’s amazing. I know, it definitely blessed my family growing up. We used to listen to Odyssey each night before bed and on road trips, you know, we would tell our mom and dad, Hey, how much longer till we’re there. And they’d be like, oh, about three or four more Odysseys.

Katie Leigh: And, you know, you’re not the first person to tell me that a lot of people judge their car trips by how many Odysseys it would take to get there and you lived in Israel?

Trenton Larkin: We did we lived in Israel for a while. My parents were doing missionary work. So…

Katie Leigh: Yeah, your sister used to right. And so I would know what was going on with the Larkin family.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah, she, she, we’ve all been impacted by the show and by you and your character, because you’ve been such an integral part since the beginning. That’s right. I don’t know if you know this, Katie. But the whole reason I created Who Did That Voice is because of voice actors and voice actresses like yourself, who inspired me as a kid to want to know who did that voice. So I created the show to help people realize that voiceovers are used in more than just animation. Like with your part in Indiana Jones: Temple of Doom. When you played the voice of the Maharaja?

Katie Leigh: Well, people don’t realize that a lot of voices in movies or re- are dubbed over once they get into post production and sometimes the actors are available and sometimes the actors aren’t available and sometimes the actors are capable, when they’re children. A lot times they’ll have an adult dubb in their voice if they need to be done because kids don’t dub that well, if they’re depending on their age. In this case, I know I auditioned for this part. I don’t even know if I heard his voice when I auditioned. They were doing the post production here in Los Angeles. And, and it was shot who knows where that kid was, if he was in England, if he was in India, I don’t know. And I don’t know why they were dumbing it. But really, I just tried to do a voice match. That’s what a lot of people do voice matches. And so I they hired me to dub his voice. I honestly can’t tell you why they wanted it dubbed when I got to the studio, Spielberg was in England. So he was in a different time zone. It was just me. And the it was just me and the engineer. I said, So did you get any notes? Do we know why we’re doing this? She said, No, I don’t know why. And I said, Oh, great. Well, hmmm let’s just match his voice as best we can and assume that maybe they just needed clean track. So I didn’t use sometimes they’ll say, you know, we can improve the performance. And you know, we can have a little more freedom, you know, to make it better. And I was pretty young back then. So nowadays, if I would have done it, I would have certainly done like, exactly what he sounded like and then maybe try to change the inflection or make it make more sense, but I didn’t know what the director wanted neither did she. So we just played it really straight and just matched his performance as best we could and and sent it off to wherever it went. And that’s that’s how that happened.

Trenton Larkin: Well, and it’s it’s so interesting, because you know, even growing up as a kid I didn’t realize myself that voiceovers were used for so much more than just animation, you know, like commercials audiobooks, and and so many other different avenues commercials and stuff. And have you done any other works besides just movies and animation? Like have you done commercials or audiobooks or anything?

Katie Leigh: Oh, my goodness. Yes. Um, I’ve done lots of when I started in voiceover, you know, I did commercials and actually some of the big paying commercials I dubbed they had kids in them. If you go to my website, voiceofyourchildhood.com or katieleigh.com, you’ll see an ADR real which means it’s dubbing, looping, ADR, they’re all the same name dialogue replacement. And you can see I found now thanks to YouTube and magic of the interwebs a commercial I had done in the 80s for 7UP and I was able to add that to my reel where I just looped this little girl’s voice. They needed it redone. They usually kids just aren’t speaking clearly enough, so they want enunciation Well, I was doing an instant potato campaign for a while. My last sessions for those guys. I was actually in labor with my daughter, we had to leave, we had to leave the studio to go have a baby I had to come back to finish it about six weeks later to do three more spots, and audiobooks. I’ve done a few audiobooks. I prefer to do children’s books, because my attention span is about that long, but I love to do children’s audiobooks and educational things. I actually directed as an audio version of a screenplay called Rex Tanner: And the Sword of Damocles that I’m super proud of. It was a sort of experimental project and I got all my excellent voiceover buddies to lend their talents to me and you can find it on audible.com and it’s not expensive and it’s super fun. And it was my first experience directing and casting you know, the whole project and shout out to my my husband, Vinnie J. who did the sound design.

Trenton Larkin: Well speaking of books, Katie, don’t you and Will Ryan have a book together?

Katie Leigh: Oh, well Will and I recorded our book Will Ryan and I wrote a book called Adventures In Oddity last year just a fun book sort of tongue in cheek disproving the the notion that he Will and I are anything like the characters we play on Adventures In Odyssey.

Adventures In Oddity (Photo by Will Ryan & Katie Leigh)

Trenton Larkin: So Katie, for anyone who’s interested in your book, they just go to your website.

Katie Leigh: Yeah, well, it’s all over it is on Amazon. But you can go to my website, the website voiceofyourchildhood.com

Trenton Larkin: I know you were talking about the interwebs of things online, and it kind of made me think of Muppet Babies. And you played Rowlf and I know there was one episode where you actually played Spider-Ralph, do you remember that?

Spider-Rowlf, Muppet Babies (Photo by Disney)

Katie Leigh: I know I saw that somebody po…reposted that.

Trenton Larkin: I was like, That is amazing.

Katie Leigh: That was pretty cool. Well, our director Hank Saroyan used to just you know, always jump on any current themes of the day. So yeah, Stan Lee’s in that episode.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah. I mean, the stuff you guys did on that show was just fantastic. I mean, y’all would go on all kinds of adventures with Star Wars and Star Trek and just you like you said all the current things that were of the day, the Muppet Babies would go on those adventures and those those were fantastic to see.

Katie Leigh: Yeah, it was a very creative groundbreaking show. You know, because we had music. We had a song and every show.

Trenton Larkin: Yeah. I love that the musical aspect of that show was so awesome. I mean, did y’all have different writers that did the songs each time? Or was it the same group or people?

Katie Leigh: Yeah, Janice Lebhard and Alan O’Day, Alan O’Day was a pretty popular songwriter. He had some hits, and they wrote our songs, Hank Saroyan, helped to our engineer Rob Walsh. But those were the ones that mainly did the songs for us every week. And I don’t know how we did that. I mean, that’s now that I think about it. Man. I remember recording the episodes. Was there a song in every episode? Maybe not?

Trenton Larkin: Almost. If not, if not every episode almost because you were the instigator with the piano and all.

Katie Leigh: We had enough I don’t think they were in every episode. Maybe they were you know what, that’s a good let’s Google that. Because my brain I didn’t even think about this for a long time. But we did produce two record albums from the show. And I remember when we went to the studio to record the songs, you know why? Because the songs were done after we didn’t do them, like the same week. I think that’s why we would you know, they’d write the shows, and there was a place for a song and then we were, you know, like, it’s every kid’s dream, right to be in a recording studio with headphones, like singing and we went down to do our first songs and I was just so excited and blown away and, and afraid cuz I’m really not a singer. So, um, you know, it was interesting. We the first session, we were, I think, at the studio till midnight, or one o’clock because our director was a perfectionist. And he learned that we learned that night we all could not sing together. We had to do it separately. So that was, you know, trial and error. We go couldn’t do it, and Howie Mandel and I were the two worst. So we got special attention. Some of the people were singers. So it was no, no big deal for them. But for us, it was a little more of a challenge, but we did it.

Trenton Larkin: That’s awesome. Well, I know with my research on Muppet Babies, I realized that Barbara Billingsley was the voice of Nanny. And I was like, wow, because I remember watching Leave It to Beaver. And I knew the voice sounded familiar, but I had no recollection of her being Nanny until researching it for our interview. What was it like working with her? Did you have much interaction with her? Or…

Barbara Billingsley (Leave It to Beaver)

Katie Leigh: Oh, yeah, she graced us with her elegant presence every time and she was such a lovely lady. She was married to a doctor, and just you know, she came to this. She’s always dressed so beautifully. And I remember asking her Barbara, why do you wear pearls to the studio? Nobody’s seeing you here because we’re like, you know, slumps, right? We’re just like, dragging in. Because I don’t know. We’re like, voiceover actors are kind of like the nerds and geeks of the acting world. I am. I’ve come to realize a few Comic Cons under my belt. And Barbara, you know, she said, Well, I dress nicely, because it it. I don’t know if she use the word bless. But maybe you know it. It’s a gift. You know, it’s a bless, you know, it’s nice for the people who are with me to be an ever since she said that, then I thought, you know what, it doesn’t matter where you go, you know, it’s up to us to make other people feel comfortable. And, and, you know, it’s not all about me, she kind of opened my eyes to considering other people. And and that’s a confession, personal confession. So yeah, she was great.

Trenton Larkin: Katie, thank you so much for that story about Barbara Billingsley. That was really wonderful to hear. Are there any particular projects you’re working on right now that you’d like to share with our listeners today?

Katie Leigh: What am I working on? Well, I do work on a show called Space Racers. Can I just say something about my daughter has a project. She started like a photo essay called Humans of New York. And this is about kids with Type One Diabetes. She’s just bringing people’s stories, sharing them so that kids around the world who are diabetic are, some of them think they’re the only ones and she’s sharing their stories. So I’m really proud of her. It’s just my, http://yourejustmytype.com. And then of course, I’ve just joined the staff of the Global Voice Acting Academy, and I’ll be teaching classes. So you can go to my website, and there’s a link am on staff there for coaching and I do some private coaching.

Trenton Larkin: Oh, that’s excellent to know that you do private coaching as well. Well, Katie, thank you so much for joining us today. It was an absolute pleasure and honor. I hope to have you back on the show again soon. Would you please do us the honor of closing us out today on Who Did That Voice.

Katie Leigh: Close you out?

Trenton Larkin: Just surprise us.

Katie Leigh: So thanks for listening to Who Did That Voice. I’m Katie Leigh. I play Connie Kendall on Adventures In Odyssey. I play Honker Muddlefoot on Darkwing Duck. I was Sunni Gummi in the Gummi Bears. And I was Dumbo on Dumbo Circus. Well that’s our show for today boys and girls. I hope you liked it.

Trenton Larkin: Hey everyone, and thanks so much for listening to today’s episode of Who Did That Voice. If you enjoyed today’s episode, please check us out online on all social media platforms at whodidthatvoice and on YouTube at whodidthatvoice24. Also remember to check out our website whodidthatvoice.org again, that’s www.whodidthatvoice.org

Thank you to all my listeners out there. I just wanted to say if you want to partner with Who Did That Voice, just telling your friends and family about us is the best way to share the show with others and or leaving us a review on Apple podcast or wherever you get your podcast from. The third and final way is by joining our patreon @patreon.com/whodidthatvoice.

Announcer: Thank you for joining us today. We’ll see you next time for more discoveries on Who Did That Voice.

--

--