A Breath of Hope

A pandemic song.

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art
2 min readDec 19, 2021

--

Image by Author

As I wait silent here alone in the shadows
In your breath of hope I shall believe
From the frontline in time, you’ll be coming home
Till then I feed on faith and dreams

Quarantine and distance, isolation day by day
Things fall apart as we ascend
And if tomorrow I should leave this place
Take me to the heavens and back again

As we dare to breathe
The air that kills will recede

Empty streets and empty towns
Tucked in our safe hideaways
Hiding from of an enemy, can you hear the sound?
I hear the sirens as you leave today
To another place where the air is clear
Floating down the river to the sea
In a breath of hope, we believe
In a breath of hope, we believe
This too shall pass, we are free
A breath of hope will set us free

Doctors and nurses line up by my bedside
Health care workers and orderlies
Cleaners and cooks acting soldiers and saints
Fight an invisible enemy

A war for the living, the dead rest in peace
Your strength of love, we can’t deny
Martyrs dying each day for their keep
Share in this end, and we will rise

As I plug in to this machine
With you my only memory

Thanks for reading / listening!

Tomas

Please join my email list here or email me at tomas@tomasbyrne.com.
A Breath Of Hope Copyright © 2021 by Tomas Byrne.

--

--

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art

Jagged Tracks Music, Process Philosophy, Progressive Ethics, Transformative Political Theory, Informed Thrillers, XLawyer tomas@tomasbyrne.com