Begin Again

A new song…

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art
2 min readMar 14, 2024

--

Image by Tomas Byrne

Staring at the sun slip away
Strain the music wanes
Hovers like a dream she cries
Ghosts that came to stay
Reaching out to all that lies behind
Forfeit one more day
Try to find a perfect alibi
Lost along the way

Mending cracks in her halo
Casting new spells to feel
Falling back on nowhere
Finding new ways to heal

Surfs a wave on a bleeding sea
Spinning out of control
To live or die as I please she pleads
No one to stay or leave
A leap of faith to breathe again
But she’s losing hold
Drops a dream that could never be
A life never whole

Dead voices wash over her
Summon up all her fears
Dead skin falls at the edges
Hanging like a tear

If we begin again
Fall into this stream and swim
I’ll meet you on the other side
No place to run and hide
There’d just be me and you
And no more promises
That we stay chained to
If we could begin again
Begin again

Cast off for an uncharted destiny
Stretching for a void inside
To touch an incorruptibility
Once through to the other side
She sheds perfect to begin again
An epiphany rising in me
Another life to live and mend
Her grace sets me free

Enchanted land engulfing me
Ancient faces stare
Tomorrow’s eyes reign over me
My unanswered prayer

If we begin again
Fall into this stream and swim
I’ll meet you on the other side
No place to run and hide
There’d just be me and you
And no more promises
That we stay chained to
If we could begin again
Begin again

Tiny boat on the water
It’s safe to miss you again
It’s safe to risk you again
Fair to admit nothing else matters
River glinting blue, cut sapphire
Rush over me, break to the other side
Breaking free from this one way ride
No expectations, coming back to me
Tormenting notions
Releasing dreams, on the line
No expectations, alone to see
Just let me, let me be
My own vulnerability
Open and free, free to conceive
Free to leave, just let
Just let me be me

Thanks for reading / listening!

Tomas

Please join my email list or email me at tomas@tomasbyrne.com.
Begin Again Copyright © 2024 by Tomas Byrne.

--

--

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art

Jagged Tracks Music, Process Philosophy, Progressive Ethics, Transformative Political Theory, Informed Thrillers, XLawyer tomas@tomasbyrne.com